Skip to main content Accessibility help
The Batchelor Prize
Prize logo 2020

The winner of the 2020 Batchelor Prize is Alexander J. Smits, Princeton University.

The Prize of $25,000 is awarded every four years to a single scientist for outstanding research in fluid dynamics, recognising research which has been published during the ten-year period prior to the announcement of the award (i.e. during the period 2009-2018). The intention is that younger researchers should be as eligible for consideration as those who are more established, and that the work should be of great current interest (representing, for example, an emerging field of application of fluid mechanics or a significant breakthrough in an established branch of the subject).

Professor Smits will give a prize lecture at the ICTAM conference in Milan in August 2020 (postponed to August 2021). Find out more about him and why he won the 2020 Batchelor Prize here.

*  *  *

How nominations for the Batchelor Prize work

The nomination process is open to everyone, and nominations should be made via email to If you would like someone to be considered for the Batchelor Prize please nominate them using the procedure outlined below:

  • The nomination should include a brief curriculum vitae of the candidate nominated.
  • A list of his/her publications during the period 2009-2018 with up to 10 of particular distinction being marked by an asterisk (there is no requirement that the research was published in the Journal of Fluid Mechanics).
  • A brief (one page) statement of the case for making the award. Joint signed statement is acceptable and further supporting letters are not required.

Conditions concerning the award of the Batchelor Prize:

  • Self-nominations will NOT be accepted.
  • All nominations must be in English.
  • The decision of the Committee shall be final. Previous winners are not eligible.

Winners of the Batchelor Prize:

2020 Alexander J. Smits
2016 Raymond E. Goldstein
2012 Detlef Lohse
2008 Howard Stone