Skip to main content Accessibility help
About this journal
British Journal of Political Science
  • ISSN: 0007-1234 (Print), 1469-2112 (Online)
  • Frequency: 4 issues per year
The British Journal of Political Science (BJPolS) is a broadly based journal aiming to cover developments across a wide range of countries and specialisms. Contributions are drawn from all fields of political science (including political theory, political behaviour, public policy and international relations), and articles from scholars in related disciplines (sociology, social psychology, economics and philosophy) appear frequently. With a reputation established over 50 years of publication, the BJPolS is widely recognised as one of the premier journals in its field.

Digital archives

Digital archives are available for this journal, providing instant online access to a repository of high-quality digitised historical content. For more information, please see the Cambridge journals digital archive.

Content preservation

Cambridge University Press publications are deposited in the following digital archives to guarantee long-term digital preservation:

  • CLOCKSS (journals) 
  • Portico (journals and books)

Past and Current Editors

Brian Barry (1971)

Anthony King (1972-1977; 1986-1987)

Ivor Crewe (1978-1982; 1986-1992)

Graham Wilson (1983-1985)

Robert Goodin (1988-1989; 2012-2014)

David Sanders (1992-2009)

Albert Weale (1993-2009)

Sarah Birch (2001-2011)

Hugh Ward (2005-2017)

Kristian Gleditsch (2010-2013)

Shaun Bowler (2012-)

Rob Johns (2013-2021)

Rene Lindstaedt (2013-2023)

Sona Golder (2015-2020)

Tobias Böhmelt (2017-)

Paul Bou-Habib (2017-)

Lucas Leemann (2017-)

Cristina Bodea (2020-)

Petra Schleiter (2020-2023)

Ruth Dassonneville (2022-)

Lucy Barnes (2023-)