Skip to main content Accessibility help

Highly Efficient Solar Cells Using Organic Dyes with Amorphous Moiety

  • Sanghoon Kim (a1), Jae Kwan Lee (a2), Il Jung (a3), Kyu-Ho Song (a4), Chul Baik (a5), Hyunbong Choi (a6), Duckhyun Kim (a7), S. Fantacci (a8), F. De Angelis (a8), J -H Yum (a9), Md. K. Nazeeruddin (a10), M. Graetzel (a11) and Jaejung Ko (a12)...


Novel organic sensitizers comprising donor; electron-conducting, and anchoring groups were engineered at molecular level and synthesized. The functionalized unsymmetrical organic sensitizers 3-{5-[N,N-Bis(9,9-dimethylfluorene-2-yl)phenyl]-thiophene-2-yl}-2-cyano-acrylic acid (JK-1) and 3-{5'-[N,N-Bis(9,9-dimethylfluorene-2-yl)phenyl]-2,2'-bithiophene-5-yl}-2-cyano-acrylic acid (JK-2), upon anchoring onto TiO2 film exhibit unprecedented incident photon to current conversion efficiency 91 %. The photovoltaic data using an electrolyte having composition of 0.6M M-methyl-N-butyl imidiazolium iodide, 0.04 M iodine, 0.025 M LiI, 0.05M guanidinium thiocyanate and 0.28 M tert.butylpyridine in 15/85 (v/v) mixture of valeronitrile and acetonitrile revealed a short circuit photocurrent density of 14.0 mA/cm2, an open circuit voltage of 753 mV and a fill factor of 0.76, corresponding to an overall conversion efficiency of 8.01 % under standard AM 1.5



Hide All
1. Special Issue: Michael Graetzel Festschrift, A tribute for this 60th Birthday: Dye Sensitized Solar Cells.; Nazeeruddin, M. K., Ed.; Elsevier: Amsterdam, 2004; Vol.248.
2. Asbury, J. B.; Ellingson, R. J.; Gosh, H. N.; Ferrere, S.; Notzig, A. J.; Lian, T. J. Phys. Chem. B 1999, 103, 31103119.
3. Park, N.-G.; Kang, M. G.; Kim, K. M.; Ryu, K. S.; Chang, S. H.; Kim, D.-K.; Van de Lagemaat, J.; Benkstein, K. D.; Frank, A. J. Langmuir 2004, 20, 42464253.
4. Heimer, T. A.; Heilweil, E. J.; Bignozzi, C. A.; Meyer, G. J. J. Phys. Chem. A 2000, 104, 42564262.10.1021/jp993438y
5. Lee, J.-J.; Coia, G. M.; Lewis, N. S. J. Phys. Chem B 2004, 108, 52695281.10.1021/jp035194u
6. Saito, Y.; Fukuri, N.; Senadeera, R.; Kitamura, T.; Wada, Y.; Yanagida, S. Electrochemistry Comm. 2004, 6, 7174.10.1016/j.elecom.2003.10.016
7. Kamat, P. V.; Haria, M.; Hotchandani, S. J. Phys. Chem B 2004, 108, 51665170.
8. Qiu, F. L.; Fisher, A. C.; Walker, A. B.; Petecr, L. M. Electrochemistry Comm. 2003, 5, 711716.10.1016/S1388-2481(03)00165-6
9. Argazzi, R.; Larramona, G.; Contado, C.; Bignozzi, C. A. Journal of Photochemistry and Photobiology, A: Chemistry 2004, 164, 1521.10.1016/j.jphotochem.2003.12.016
10. Bisquert, J.; Cahen, D.; Hodes, G.; Ruehle, S.; Zaban, A. J. Phys. Chem B 2004, 108, 8106–8118.
11. Figgemeier, E.; Hagfeldt, A. International Journal of Photoenergy 2004, 6, 127140.10.1155/S1110662X04000169
12. Furube, A.; Katoh, R.; Yoshihara, T.; Hara, K.; Murata, S.; Arakawa, H.; Tachiya, M. J. Phys. Chem B 2004, 108, 12588–12592.10.1021/jp0487713
13. Nazeeruddin, M. K.; De Angelis, F.; Fantacci, S.; Selloni, A.; Viscardi, G.; Liska, P.; Ito, S.; Bessho, T.; Graitzel, M. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2005, 127, 16835–16847.
14. Hara, K.; Sato, T.; Katoh, R.; Furube, A.; Ohga, Y.; Shinpo, A.; Suga, S.; Sayama, K.; Sugihara, H.; Arakawa, H. J. Phys. Chem. B 2003, 107, 597606.10.1021/jp026963x
15. Horiuchi, T.; Miura, H.; Sumioka, K.; Uchida, S. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2004, 126, 1221812219.
16. Morandeira, A.; Boschloo, G.; Hagfeldt, A.; Hammarstrolm, L. J. Phys. Chem. B 2005, 109, 1940319410.
17. Ito, S.; Zakeeruddin, S. M.; Humphry-Baker, R.; Liska, P.; Charvet, R.; Comte, P.; Nazeeruddin, M. K.; Péchy, P.; Takata, M.; Miura, H.; Uchida, S.; Grätzel, M. Adv. Mat. 2006, 18, 12021205.
18. Hagberg, D. P.; Edvinsson, T.; Marinado, T.; Boschloo, G.; Hagfeldt, A.; Sun, L. Chem. Commun 2006, 22452247.10.1039/b603002e
19. Liu, D.; Fessenden, R. W.; Hug, G. L.; Kamat, P. V. J. Phys. Chem B 1997, 101, 25832590.10.1021/jp962695p
20. Burfeindt, B.; Hannappel, T.; Storck, W.; Willig, F. J. Phys. Chem. 1996, 100, 1646316465.10.1021/jp9622905
21. Sayama, K.; Tsukagoshi, S.; Hara, K.; Ohga, Y.; Shinpou, A.; Abe, Y.; Suga, S.; Arakawa, H. J. Phys. Chem B 2002, 106, 13631371.
22. Wang, P.; Zakeeruddin, S. M.; Comte, P.; Charvet, R.; Humphry-Baker, R.; Grätzel, M. J. Phys. Chem. B, 2003, 107, 1433614341.
23. Kuang, D.; Ito, S.; Wenger, B.; Klein, C.; Moser, J.-E.; Humphry-Baker, R.; Zakeeruddin, S. M.; Grätzel, M. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2006, 128, 41464154.10.1021/ja058540p
24. Kim, S.; Song, K.-H.; Kang, S. O.; Ko, J. Chem. Commun. 2004, 6869


Highly Efficient Solar Cells Using Organic Dyes with Amorphous Moiety

  • Sanghoon Kim (a1), Jae Kwan Lee (a2), Il Jung (a3), Kyu-Ho Song (a4), Chul Baik (a5), Hyunbong Choi (a6), Duckhyun Kim (a7), S. Fantacci (a8), F. De Angelis (a8), J -H Yum (a9), Md. K. Nazeeruddin (a10), M. Graetzel (a11) and Jaejung Ko (a12)...


Full text views

Total number of HTML views: 0
Total number of PDF views: 0 *
Loading metrics...

Abstract views

Total abstract views: 0 *
Loading metrics...

* Views captured on Cambridge Core between <date>. This data will be updated every 24 hours.

Usage data cannot currently be displayed