Hostname: page-component-848d4c4894-2pzkn Total loading time: 0 Render date: 2024-05-27T20:37:47.213Z Has data issue: false hasContentIssue false

From Process Assumptions to Development to Manufacturing

Published online by Cambridge University Press:  01 February 2011

Theo Standaert
Affiliation:
testanda@us.ibm.com, IBM, SRDC, Int. zip 42J, 2070 Route 52, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States, 845-892-8176
Allen Gabor
Affiliation:
ahgabor@us.ibm.com, IBM, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Andrew Simon
Affiliation:
simonan@us.ibm.com, IBM, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Anthony Lisi
Affiliation:
lisia@us.ibm.com, IBM, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Carsten Peters
Affiliation:
Carsten.Peters@amd.com, AMD, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Craig Child
Affiliation:
cchild@us.ibm.com, AMD, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Dimitri Kioussis
Affiliation:
kioussis@us.ibm.com, AMD, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Edward Engbrecht
Affiliation:
eengbre@us.ibm.com, IBM, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Fen Chen
Affiliation:
chenfe@us.ibm.com, IBM, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Frieder Baumann
Affiliation:
fhbauman@us.ibm.com, IBM, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Gerhard Lembach
Affiliation:
glembach@us.ibm.com, AMD, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Hermann Wendt
Affiliation:
Herman.Wendt@amd.com, AMD, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Jihong Choi
Affiliation:
jchoi@us.ibm.com, AMD, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Joseph Linville
Affiliation:
linville@us.ibm.com, AMD, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Kaushik Chanda
Affiliation:
kchanda@us.ibm.com, IBM, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Kaushik Kumar
Affiliation:
kumar@us.ibm.com, IBM, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Kenneth Davis
Affiliation:
kendavis@us.ibm.com, IBM, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Laertis Economikos
Affiliation:
econol@us.ibm.com, IBM, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Lee Nicholson
Affiliation:
lmnicholson@us.ibm.com, IBM, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Moosung Chae
Affiliation:
mchae@us.ibm.com, Infineon, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Naftali Lustig
Affiliation:
lustig@us.ibm.com, IBM, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Oscar Bravo
Affiliation:
obravo@us.ibm.com, IBM, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Paul McLaughlin
Affiliation:
mclaugps@us.ibm.com, IBM, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Ravi Prakash Srivastava
Affiliation:
rpsriv@us.ibm.com, Chartered, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Ronald Filippi
Affiliation:
rfilippi@us.ibm.com, IBM, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Sujatha Sankaran
Affiliation:
sujatha@us.ibm.com, IBM, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Tibor Bolom
Affiliation:
bolomt@us.ibm.com, AMD, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Vinayan Menon
Affiliation:
vinayan@us.ibm.com, IBM, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Vincent McGahay
Affiliation:
mcgahay@us.ibm.com, IBM, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Wai-Kin Li
Affiliation:
waikinli@us.ibm.com, IBM, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Wei-Tsu Tseng
Affiliation:
weitsuts@us.ibm.com, IBM, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
William Landers
Affiliation:
landersw@us.ibm.com, IBM, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Youngjin Choi
Affiliation:
choiy@us.ibm.com, IBM, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Glenn Biery
Affiliation:
biery@us.ibm.com, IBM, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Thom Gow
Affiliation:
tgow@us.ibm.com, IBM, Hopewell Junction, NY, 12533, United States
Get access

Abstract

A tool has been developed that can be used to characterize or validate a BEOL interconnect technology. It connects various process assumptions directly to electrical parameters including resistance. The resistance of narrow copper lines is becoming a challenging parameter, not only in terms of controlling its value but also understanding the underlying mechanisms. The resistance was measured for 45nm-node interconnects and compared to the theory of electron scattering. This work will demonstrate how valuable it is to directly link the electrical models to the physical on-wafer dimensions and in turn to the process assumptions. For example, one can generate a tolerance pareto for physical and or electrical parameters that immediately identifies those process sectors that have the largest contribution to the overall tolerance. It also can be used to easily generate resistance versus capacitance plots which provide a good BEOL performance gauge. Several examples for 45nm BEOL will be given to demonstrate the value of these tools.

Type
Research Article
Copyright
Copyright © Materials Research Society 2008

Access options

Get access to the full version of this content by using one of the access options below. (Log in options will check for institutional or personal access. Content may require purchase if you do not have access.)

References

REFERENCES

1. Sondheimer, E. H., Advances in Physics, 2001, 50 (6), 499537 Google Scholar
2. Mayadas, A. F. and Schatzkes, M, Phys. Rev. B, 1970, 1 (4), 13821389 Google Scholar
3. Rossnagel, S. M. and Kuan, T. S., JVST B, 2004, Vol. 22 (1), 240247 Google Scholar
4. Standaert, T., Lustig, N., and Lu, N., to be published.Google Scholar
5. Sankaran, S., et al, Electron Devices Meeting, 2006, IEDM '06 International.Google Scholar