Skip to main content Accessibility help

William F. Sharpe Best Paper Award

Announcing the Winners of the JFQA 2020 William F. Sharpe Best Paper Award

The William F. Sharpe Award for Scholarship in Financial Research recognizes researchers who, through their articles published in the JFQA, have most contributed to our understanding of important areas of financial economics. Nominees for the Sharpe Award are chosen by a vote of JFQA readers and Associate Editors; the winners, who receive a $5,000 cash prize, are selected by the Managing Editors.

The winners of the Sharpe Award for JFQA papers published in 2020 are:

David De Angelis, Rice University 

Yaniv Grinstein, IDC Herzliya, Cornell University, and ECGI

For their article:

"Relative Performance Evaluation in CEO Compensation: A Talent-Retention Explanation"
November 2020, Vol. 55, No. 7, pp. 2099–2123

Please join us in congratulating David and Yaniv for their accomplishments.

Hendrik Bessembinder
Jennifer Conrad
Mara Faccio
Jarrad Harford
Paul Malatesta
JFQA Managing Editors