Skip to main content Accessibility help
Herodotus: The Seventh, Eighth, and Ninth Books
  • Export citation
  • Recommend to librarian
  • Buy the print book

Book description

Fellow and Master of University College, Oxford, the classical scholar Reginald Walter Macan (1848–1941) published in 1908 this two-volume edition (in three parts) of the last books of Herodotus, which cover the Greco-Persian Wars during the period 486 to 479 BCE. Volume 2 contains appendices, indexes and maps pertinent to Books 7-9. Macan includes essays on supporting authorities, hypotheses on lost witnesses, and textual evidence presented by poets such as Pindar and the philosophers Plato and Aristotle. He also examines the events in the last books of The Histories, outlining the preparations of the Persians and Greeks for war, as well as reviewing the conflict's strategic aspects as it shifted from Thessaly through to Plataea and Sestos. Macan's edition remains valuable to scholars of the history of textual criticism and the historiography of the classical world.

Refine List

Actions for selected content:

Select all | Deselect all
  • View selected items
  • Export citations
  • Download PDF (zip)
  • Send to Kindle
  • Send to Dropbox
  • Send to Google Drive

Save Search

You can save your searches here and later view and run them again in "My saved searches".

Please provide a title, maximum of 40 characters.



Full text views

Total number of HTML views: 0
Total number of PDF views: 0 *
Loading metrics...

Book summary page views

Total views: 0 *
Loading metrics...

* Views captured on Cambridge Core between #date#. This data will be updated every 24 hours.

Usage data cannot currently be displayed.