News of MRS Members/Materials Researchers

Bruce M. Alberts (University of California, San Francisco) has been appointed by the board of directors of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) as the 18th editor-inchief of *Science* magazine, effective March 1,2008.

Robert Hull (University of Virginia) became the head of the School of Engi-

neering's Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in early 2008. In addition, Hull will be appointed as the Henry Burlage professor of Materials Science and Engineering.

Choo Fong Shih has been announced as the founding president of King Abdullah University of Science and **Technology (KAUST)**, Saudi Arabia. He is expected to assume his duties on December 1, 2008.

Charles Vest (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) has been elected as the new president of the National Academy of Engineering. His term began on July 1, 2008.

The International Centre for Diffraction Data® (ICDD®) Ludo Frevel Crystallography Scholarship Committee has selected 10 recipients for the 2008 Scholarship Program. The recipients include:

Tobias Beck (Goettingen University, Germany) for "Learning From Metal Sites in Proteins: Crystallography Studies on Biomimetics";

Sophie Beckett (Cranfield University, UK) for "Species Identification of Bone Fragments: Development of a New Combined Method of Pyrolysis and X-ray Diffraction Analysis";

Dejan-Krešimir Bučar (University of Iowa, Iowa) for "Metallosupramolecular Capsules with Nanometer-Sized Cavities Derived From a Template-Directed [2+2] Photodimerization in the Solid State";

James Ciston (Northwestern University, Illinois) for "Experimental Measurement of Surface Valence Charge Density";

Martin Duriska (Monash University, Australia) for "Multifunctional 'Nanoballs'";

Beth S. Guiton (University of Pennsylvania, Pennsylvania) for "Nano-Domain, Superlattices: Periodic Nanometer-Scale Phase Separation in A-site Deficient Perovskite Oxides";

Magdalena Korczynska (McGill University, Canada) for "Structural Characterization of Potential Drug Targets";

Katherine Snoda Ryan (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) for "Diverging Pathways in Natural Product Biosynthesis: The Crystal Structure of VioE";

Nathan J. Silvernail (University of Notre Dame, Indiana) for "Mapping of NO Motion in Solid State [Fe(TpXPP) (NO)(1-Melm)] Complexes"; and

Bo Song (Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China) for "New Ternary Nitrides & Carbides: Synthesis, Structural Characterizations and Physical Properties."

The Neutron Scattering Society of America has announced the 2008 recipients of its three major prizes:

Sow-Hsin Chen (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) has received the 2008 Clifford G. Shull Prize for his contributions to understanding the dynamical properties of supercooled and interfacial water using neutron scattering techniques, and for his exceptional record of training young scientists in the use of scattering techniques;

Frank Bates (University of Minnesota) has received the 2008 Sustained Research Prize for his pioneering SANS experiments that probe the structure and thermodynamics of polymeric fluids and block copolymers; and

Seung-Hun Lee (University of Virginia) has received the 2008 Science Prize for his innovative and insightful neutron scattering studies of frustrated magnetic systems. □

