THE AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

President: D. W. ROBINSON CMA

School of Mathematical Sciences Australian National University

ACT 0200, Australia

Secretary: D. ELLIOTT Department of Mathematics

University of Tasmania

Hobart, TAS 7001, Australia

Treasurer: A. Howe Mathematics Department

Australian National University Canberra, ACT 0200, Australia

Membership subscriptions Ordinary members: A\$65

(for 1995)

(or A\$60 if paid before 1 January 1995)

New ordinary members: A\$33
Reciprocal members: A\$33
Reduced rate members: A\$12
Sustaining members: A\$130
Institutional members: A\$762

(this includes all publications)

Reciprocity agreements: Such agreements have been made with a number of other mathematical societies. Under the agreements, members of the other societies who are not normally resident in Australia may join the Australian Mathematical Society at the rate shown.

Membership and correspondence: Applications for membership, notice of change of address or title or position, members' subscriptions and correspondence related to accounts should be sent to the Treasurer. Correspondence about the distribution of the Society's GAZETTE, JOURNAL Series A, Series B, BULLETIN, and orders for back numbers should also be sent to the Treasurer. All other correspondence should be sent to the Secretary.

Members of the Society receive copies of the GAZETTE free, and may subscribe to any of the Society's research publications, the JOURNAL (Series A) for A\$33 per year, the JOURNAL (Series B) A\$25 per year, the BULLETIN A\$30. For reduced rate members the subscription rates are half those quoted.

OTHER PUBLICATIONS OF THE SOCIETY

The JOURNAL SERIES B. This series contains papers on applied mathematics. It is published in volumes comprising four parts, starting with Volume XIX Part 1, 1975. Four parts will be published in 1995; the price to non-members is A\$174 (US\$134) for 1995. Typescripts for publications should be sent to the Editor, Associate Professor C. E. M. PEARCE, Department of Applied Mathematics, University of Adelaide, SA 5005, Australia.

The *BULLETIN* of the Australian Mathematical Society began publication in 1969. It aims at quick publication of original research in all branches of mathematics. Two volumes of three numbers are published annually. The price to non-members is A\$250 (US\$192) for 1995. Each paper for publication should include an abstract and a 1991 Mathematics Subject Classification. Three copies of the typescript should be sent to the Editor, Dr. A. S. JONES, Department of Mathematics, University of Queensland, QLD 4072, Australia.

The GAZETTE started publication in 1974 and carries news items, mathematical articles of general interest, and articles on tertiary mathematics teaching. The price to non-members is A\$48 (US\$37) for 1995. Typescripts for publication should be sent to the Editor, Prof. T. M. MILLS, Department of Mathematics, La Trobe University, P. O. Box 199, Bendigo, VIC 3550, Australia.

Editor of the Journal, Series A

J. R. J. Groves, Department of Mathematics, University of Melbourne, Parkville, VIC 3052

Associate Editors

- R. Bartnik—differential geometry, relativity, Department of Mathematics, The University of New England, Armidale, NSW 2351
- W. W. L. Chen—number theory, Department of Mathematics School of MPCE Macquarie University, NSW 2109
- E. N. Dancer—abstract analysis, partial differential equations,
 School of Mathematics and Statistics
 The University of Sydney,
 Sydney, NSW 2006
- B. A. Davey—universal algebras, School of Mathematical and Informational Sciences, La Trobe University, Bundoora, VIC 3083
- P. G. Dodds—functional analysis, Department of Mathematics and Statistics, The Flinders University of South Australia, G.P.O. Box 2100, Adelaide, SA 5001

- A. H. Dooley—harmonic analysis, Lie groups,
 Department of Mathematics,
 University of New South Wales
 P.O. Box 1
 Kensington, NSW 2033
- D. Easdown—semigroups, computational algebra,
 School of Mathematics and Statistics
 The University of Sydney,
 Sydney, NSW 2006
- P. C. Fenton—complex analysis, Department of Mathematics, University of Otago, P.O. Box 56, Dunedin, New Zealand
- J. A. Hillman—topology, School of Mathematics and Statistics The University of Sydney, Sydney, NSW 2006
- R. B. Howlett—groups, School of Mathematics and Statistics The University of Sydney, Sydney, NSW 2006

- P. Kloeden—dynamical systems, differential equations,
 Department of Computing and Mathematics,
 Deakin University,
 Geelong, VIC 3217
- L. G. Kovács noncommutative algebra, School of Mathematical Sciences The Australian National University, ACT 0200
- B. D. McKay—combinatorics, Computer Science Department The Australian National University, ACT 0200
- R. A. Maller—probability and statistics,
 Department of Mathematics,
 University of Western Australia,
 Nedlands, WA 6009
- G. Robertson—operator algebras, representation theory, Department of Mathematics, University of Newcastle, Newcastle, NSW 2308
- M. Sniedovich—operations research,
 Department of Mathematics,
 University of Melbourne,
 Parkville, VIC 3052

Assistant Editors

J. J. Koliha, Department of Mathematics, University of Melbourne, Parkville, VIC 3052 I. R. Aitchison, Department of Mathematics, University of Melbourne, Parkville, VIC 3052

Correspondence concerning the printing of papers after their acceptance for publication should be addressed to J. J. Koliha.

Copyright Statement

Where necessary, permission to photocopy for internal or personal use or the internal or personal use of specific clients is granted by the Treasurer, Australian Mathematical Publishing Association, Inc., to libraries and other users registered with the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), provided that the base fee of \$A2.00 per copy of article is paid directly to CCC, 27 Congress Street, Salem, MA 01970, U.S.A. Special requests should be addressed to the Treasurer, Australian Mathematical Publishing Association, Inc., c/-Mathematics Department, Australian National University, ACT 0200, Australia. Serial-fee code: 0263-6115/95 \$A2.00 + 0.00.