Ecclesiastical Law Journal

Volume 5

CONTENTS

Chairman's Message	313
Editor's Notes	315
The Origin and Founding of the Ecclesiastical Law Society	316
The Advowson Peter M. Smith	320
Roman Catholic Missionary Prelates	340
The Community Use of Churches	348
Twentieth-Century Revision of Canon Law in the Church of England	
Book Reviews	369
Synod News:	
The General Synod of the Scottish Episcopal Church	380
The General Synod of the Church of England	382
The General Synod of the Church in Wales	383
Recent Ecclesiastical Cases	386
In Memoriam: Michael Gillingham and Martin Caroe	393

The Journal of the Ecclesiastical Law Society

The Ecclesiastical Law Journal is published by the Ecclesiastical Law Society. Decisions on the publication of individual articles are at the discretion of the Editor but are normally made on the advice of referees, chosen by the Editor as expert in the relevant area, General policies of the Journal are developed in consultation with the Editorial Committee and the Editorial Advisory Board, Authors are reminded that they must follow the format set out in 'Notes to Authors'. They must also submit two double-spaced typed copies and, if possible, a computer disc (Microsoft Word or compatible). General enquiries, and articles submitted for publication, should be addressed to: The Editor, Ecclesiastical Law Journal, Parkside, Dulwich Common, London SE21 7EU (Tel. 020-8693-3564).

Books for review may be sent to: J.D.C. Harte, Book Review Editor, Ecclesiastical Law Journal, Newcastle Law School, Newcastle University, 21–24 Windsor Terrace, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 7RU (Tel. 0191 222 7614; Fax 0191 212 0064).

Matters relating to cases should be addressed to: the Worshipful Chancellor Mark Hill, Case Notes Editor, Ecclesiastical Law Journal, 3 Pump Court, Temple, London EC4Y 7AJ (Tel. 020-7353 0711; Fax 020-7353 3319; E-mail mark hill8@virgin.net).

1SSN 0956-618X

Items in this issue should be cited 5 Eee LJ

Enquiries with regard to membership of the Ecclesiastical Law Society or subscriptions to the Journal, including back issues, should be addressed to: Ecclesiastical Law Society, c/o 1 The Sanctuary, Westminster, London SW1P 3JT (Tel. 020-7222 5381). Enquiries from North America with regard to subscriptions to the Journal or back issues should be addressed to Gaunt Inc, Gaunt Building, 3011 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Florida 34127-2199, USA, who are sole distribution agents for the Journal to non-members in North America.

The views expressed in any article, review or other publication in this Journal do not necessarily accord with those of the Editorial Committee or the Society as a whole.

Typeset in Times Roman on Apple Macintosh and printed by Oxuniprint, Oxford University Press, Great Clarendon Street, Oxford OX2 6DP.

All rights in this publication are reserved. It may not be reproduced or transmitted in whole or in part, for sale or otherwise, in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording or storage in any retrieval system, without written permission from the Ecclesiastical Law Society.

The Ecclesiastical Law Society 2000

ECCLESIASTICAL LAW SOCIETY

Patrons

The Most Revd and Rt Hon the Lord Archbishop of Canterbury
The Most Revd and Rt Hon the Lord Archbishop of York

Vice-Patrons

The Most Revd the Lord Archbishop of Wales
The Most Revd the Lord Archbishop of Armagh
The Most Revd the Primus of Scotland

President

The Rt Revd the Lord Bishop of Chichester

Elective Officers (to 2000)

CHAIRMAN: Dr Frank Robson OBE†
VICE-CHAIRMAN: The Rt Revd the Lord Bishop of Stafford†
SECRETARY: Peter Beesley†
DEPUTY SECRETARY: Nicholas J. Richens†
TREASURER: The Revd John Rees†

Executive Officer

The Revd Dr Stephen Pix†

General Committee

The Officers together with:

ELECTED: Brian Hanson CBE (to 2000)

David Harte (to 2000)

The Revd and Worshipful Chancellor

Rupert Bursell QC† (to 2001)

The Very Revd the Dean of Carlisle (to 2001)

Jonathan Cryer (to 2001)

The Worshipful Chancellor Michael Goodman†* (to 2001)

The Worshipful Chancellor Mark Hill (to 2001)

James Behrens (to 2002)

The Worshipful Chancellor Thomas Coningsby QC (to 2002)

The Worshipful Chancellor John Holden (to 2002)

The Worshipful Chancellor Charles Mynors (to 2002)

The Revd Dr Robert Ombres OP (to 2002)

CO-OPTED: Dr Norman Doe (to 2001)

Quentin Edwards QC (to 2002)

† Member of Executive Committee

* Chairman of the Editorial Committee