25 Black Students Selected for Summer Institute

Twenty-five black students from across the nation were selected to participate in the Summer Institute in Political Science for Black Students June 12-July 22, held in Baton Rouge, Louisiana at Louisiana State University and Southern University.

The Association, with support from the Ford Foundation, has sponsored the Summer Institute since 1986. It is designed to encourage black students to pursue academic careers in political science and has five primary objectives.

- to introduce the participants to leading issues and problems in the discipline and profession of political science;
- to inform students of career opportunities for political scientists;
- to enhance the general academic skills of the participants, making them more competitive applicants for graduate school admission and financial assistance,
- to introduce students to quantitative and analytical methods of study in political science;
- to expose participants to leading scholars in the discipline

The program is open to black students in their junior year of undergraduate study. Co-directors of the Institute were Jewel Prestage, Dean of the School of Public Policy and Urban Affairs, Southern University, and Peter Zwick, Chair, Department of Political Science, Louisiana State University.

Students selected to participate in the Summer Institute were:

Nikol Alexander, Southern University Kimberly Ball, Hampton University Ebony Bostic, University of Virginia Carmen Bowie, Spelman College Carla Boyers, James Madison University Kendal Coes, Oakwood College Melissa DuBose, Providence College Donnett Flash, University of Iowa Hollis France, Jersey City State College Danielle Glaze, Louisiana State University

- Chica Grate, South Carolina State College
- John Harris, Eckerd College
- Roger Jackson, Kutztown University

Edward Johnson, Suffolk University

Wanda Jones, Purdue University

Vanessa Lazare, University of Southwestern Louisiana

Efrem Lewis, Mississippi Valley State University

Dwight Miller, Virginia Union University

Paul Mussenden, Norwich University

Arlene Roberts, Iona College

- Samuel Sampson, Prairie View A&M University
- Vinette Smith, Prairie View A&M University

Linda Trautman, Dillard University

Kim Tremble, Georgia Southern College

Devin Walker, University of Maryland, Baltimore

Johansen to be Editor of Women's Caucus Newsletter

The Women's Caucus announces the appointment of Elaine Johansen as editor of the Quarterly Newsletter for the Caucus. Professor Johansen is an associate professor at the University of Connecticut, where she serves in the Masters of Public Affairs Program of the Department of Political Science. Departments with positions open, and others with announcements they would like to see in the next issue of the Newsletter, are urged to write to Professor Johansen before September 15, 1989 at the Department of Political Science, University of Connecticut, Storrs, CT 06268. The Caucus wishes to extend its deepest gratitude to Professor Amal Kawar of the University of Utah for her excellent work as editor of the Quarterly Newsletter for 1988-89

September 1989

Cynthia Tucker to Deliver the Mary Lepper Lecture

The Women's Caucus has announced that the speaker for the Mary Lepper Lecture, an annual event at the annual meeting open to APSA members, will be Cynthia Tucker, associate editor of the Atlanta Constitution. Ms. Tucker, presently a Nieman Fellow at Harvard University, writes widely on the role of blacks and women in American politics. She will speak on "The Growing Income Gap: A Threat to the American Ideal of Equal Opportunity" at 5:30 p.m., Thursday, August 31.

Computer Users Section Begins Newsletter

The Computer User's Section of APSA has published their first newsletter. Persons interested in obtaining copies may write to the editor, Michael L. Vasu, Social Science Research and Instructional Computing Lab, School of Humanities and Social Sciences, North Carolina State University, Box 8101, Raleigh, NC 27695-8101.

Have You Been a Member As Long As ...?

Jean Walen

American Political Science Association

Over 1300 current and active members of the Association have been continuous members of the Association for 25 years or longer. Clarence Berdahl, who was 99 in June, has been a member for 72 years and two of our living ex-presidents, E. Pendleton Herring and R. Taylor Cole, have been members for 62 years.

The Association will welcome any corrections in the following listing if our records are inaccurate.

Member since 1917— 72 years Clarence A. Berdahl

Member since 1921– 68 years Harold Gosnell

Member since 1924– 65 years N. D. Houghton

Members since 1926— 63 years Francis Aumann Marshall Dimock

Members since 1927-62 years

*R. Taylor Cole *E. Pendleton Herring J. Roland Pennock Llewellyn Pfankuchen Joseph Pois Harry Voltmer

704

Members since 1928— 61 years H. S. Foster Dale Pontius

Members since 1930---59 years Winston Crouch George A. Graham Ernest Griffith

Albert Lepawsky *Emmette Redford Carroll Shaw

Members since 1931– 58 years David Fellman Charles Hagan

Members since 1932— 57 years Arthur Bromage Benjamin Rowe O. G. Stahl Belle Zeller Members since 1933-56 years

John Ferguson Robert McCulloch Dean E. McHenry

*C. Herman Pritchett Henry Reining Victoria Schuck Estal Sparlin Karl Stromsem

Members since 1934-

55 years Willard Barber William O. Farber James Fesler G. Lowell Field Robert J Harris

Member since 1935 54 years M. R. Goldschmidt

PS: Political Science & Politics