Association News

Other faculty members who are members of the APSA may subscribe to *this Constitution* for \$8 per year (a discount of 20 percent). You may use the subscription form in this issue.

Travel Grants to 1985 IPSA World Congress in Paris Announced

With funds from the National Science Foundation, the Association awarded travel grants to 50 scholars attending the XIII IPSA World Congress in Paris, July 15-20, 1985.

The Selection Committee, composed of Samuel C. Patterson, University of Iowa, chair; Linda P. Brady, Department of Defense; and Catherine M. Kelleher, University of Maryland, had the difficult task of choosing 50 grantees from among 158 qualified applicants.

The NSF travel grant recipients are:

Joel D. Aberbach, Public Policy Studies, University of Michigan

David E. Apter, Yale University

Robert Bianchi, University of Pennsylvania

Herman L. Boschken, San Jose State University

Steven J. Brams, New York University Richard A. Brody, Stanford University Gary C. Bryner, Brigham Young University John Campbell, University of Michigan H. E. Chehabi, Yale University Susan E. Clarke, University of Colorado, Boulder Beverly Cook, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Robert M. Cutler, University of Arizona

Lowell Dittmer, University of California, Berkeley

Julie Erfanirezaiansari, Purdue University

Daniel S. Geller, University of Mississippi

Andrew D. Glassberg, University of Missouri, St. Louis

Etel Goldman, Los Angeles, CA

Rodolfo Goncebate, Yale University

Barbara Schmitter Heisler, Cleveland State University

John R. Hibbing, University of Nebraska

Walter W. Hill, Howard University

Peggy A. James, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Frederick M. Kaiser, Congressional Research Service

Robert O. Keohane, Harvard University Dale Krane, Mississippi State University

SUBSCRIPTION FORM APSA Members

I would like to subscribe to *this Constitution* at the discount rate of \$8 per year, for:

_____ 1985 (issues 6-9)

I would like to order issues no. 1-5 at \$4 each. Issue nos.

A check for \$_____ is enclosed.

Name: ___

Address:__

Mail to: Project '87, 1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20036

626 PS Summer 1985

Thomas D. Lancaster, Emory University

Michael S. Lewis-Beck, University of Iowa

David B. Magleby, Brigham Young University

Douglas Madsen, University of Iowa

Dwain Mefford, University of Southern California

Ronald I. Meltzer, University of Buffalo, SUNY

David S. Meyer, Boston University

Daniel Mou, University of Wisconsin at Madison

Robert G. Muncaster, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Joyce Marie Mushaben, University of Missouri-St. Louis

Helmut Norpoth, State University of New York at Stony Brook

Terrel L. Rhodes, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

John D. Robertson, Texas A&M University

Virginia Sapiro, University of Wisconsin at Madison

James N. Schubert, Alfred University

Roberta Sigel, Rutgers University

Michael P. Smith, University of California, Berkeley

Debra Stewart, North Carolina State University

Stuart Thorson, Syracuse University

Ronald Tiersky, Amherst College

Carole Jean Uhlaner, University of California, Irvine

Michael Wallerstein, University of California, Los Angeles

Leonard Weinberg, University of Nevada, Reno

Susan Welch, University of Nebraska, Lincoln

David M. Wood, University of Missouri-Columbia

The Association's Selection Committee also assisted the American Council of Learned Societies to award travel grants to the IPSA Congress. ACLS travel grant recipients are:

Teh-Kuang Chang, Ball State University Martin Edelman, SUNY, Albany Joyce Gelb, City College, CUNY Judith A. Gillespie, Boston University Gregory J. Kasza, Whitman College Gary F. Prevost, Saint John's University Darryl Roberts, Duke University

Laura L. Vertz, North Texas State University James L. Wiser, Loyola University of Chicago

Organization of Power To Be Theme of 1986 Annual Meeting

Matthew Holden, Jr.

University of Virginia

The function of the annual meeting is, among other things, to allow colleagues to put on display, for collegial advice, criticism, and instruction, the varied forms of research and writing that, in our highly individualistic discipline, we take seriously. The 1986 meeting will serve that function fully. APSA programs can never be turned into Procrustean beds. But colleagues are particularly encouraged to consider how their work may be related seriously to the 1986 program theme, "The Organization of Power," predicated on the view that there is a fundamental coherence in the political phenomenon and a potential intellectual coherence in the analysis of the political phenomenon.

"Politics" as a fundamental human activity, to adapt language from Walton Hamilton, "is not [simply] the televised soapbox or the [search] for votes, but [in the] Aristotelian tradition . . . the usages and traditions, the arrangements and policies, by which [the human species] is governed, and through which [human beings]—usurping the function of the gods —attempt to shape destiny." In a quite different intellectual tradition, Masao Maruyama expresses politics as "the organization of control by man over

Matthew Holden, Jr., Henry L. and Grace M. Doherty Professor at the University of Virginia, is program chair for the 1986 annual meeting which will be held at the Washington Hilton in Washington, D.C., August 28-31, 1986.