BULLETIN

OF

THE AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

Volume 56, Number 2 October 1997

The Australian Mathematical Publishing Assoc. Inc., Australian National University, ACT 0200, Australia. Printed in Australia by Watson Ferguson & Co. Print Post approved - PP229219/00095

ISSN 0004-9727

THE AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

President: A.J. van der Poorten	School of Mathematics, Physics, Computing and Electronics Macquarie University, New South Wales 2109, Australia.
Secretary: D. Elliott	Department of Mathematics, University of Tasmania, Hobart Tas. 7000, Australia.
Treasurer: A. Howe	School of Mathematical Sciences, The Australian National University, Canberra 0200, Australia

Membership and correspondence.

Applications for membership, notices of change of address or title or position, members' subscriptions and correspondence related to accounts should be sent to the Treasurer. Correspondence about the distribution of the Society's BULLETIN, GAZETTE, and JOURNALS, and orders for back numbers should be sent to the Treasurer. All other correspondence should be sent to the Secretary.

The Bulletin.

The Bulletin of the Australian Mathematical Society began publication in 1969. Normally two volumes of three numbers are published annually. The BULLETIN is published for the Australian Mathematical Society by the Australian Mathematical Publishing Association Inc.

Editor: Michael G. Cowling	Department of Pure Mathematics, The University of NSW, Sydney NSW 2052, Australia	
Editorial Office: Deputy Editor: Neil H. Williams	Department of Mathematics, The University of Queensland, Queensland 4072, Australia.	
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	

Honorary Editor: B.H. Neumann

ASSOCIATE EDITORS

Robert S. Anderssen	B.D. Craven	B.D. Jones	J.H. Rubinstein
Alan L. Andrew	Brian A. Davey	N. Joshi	Brailey Sims
R. Bartnik	P.G. Dodds	G.I. Lehrer	Ross Street
Elizabeth J. Billington	P. Donovan	K.L. McAvaney	R.P. Sullivan
G. Cairns	J.R. Giles	A.G.R. McIntosh	G. Szekeres
J. Clark	J.A. Hempel	Sidney A. Morris	E.U. Tarafdar
John Cossey	B.D. Hughes	M.K. Murray	H.B. Thompson
N.S. Truding	ger A.J. van der	Poorten N.C.	Weber

ASSISTANT EDITOR

G.A. Chandler

©Copyright Statement Where necessary, permission to photocopy for internal or personal use or the internal or personal use of specific clients is granted by the Treasurer, Australian Mathematical Publishing Association, Inc., for libraries and other users registered with the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), provided that the base fee of \$A2.00 per copy of article is paid directly to CCC, 21 Congress Street, Salem, MA 01970, U.S.A. Special requests should be addressed to the Treasurer, Australian Mathematical Publishing Association, Inc., Department of Mathematics, ANU, Canberra ACT 0200 Australia. Serial-fee code: 0004-9727/97 \$A2.00 + 0.00.