

MRS reports election results for 2021

mrs.org/about-mrs/governance

embers of the Materials Research Society (MRS) have elected a vice president (who will serve as president in 2022) and four directors to join the 2021 MRS Board of Directors. The Board is composed of the officers of the Society and 12 to 21 directors, 25% of whom may be appointed. The exact number shall be set by resolution of the Board of Directors.

The MRS Board of Directors is the highest governing body of MRS, responsible for establishing policy, monitoring progress of the Society toward its longterm goals, and setting the strategic directions for the activities of the Society, including its meetings, publications, interactions with government agencies, and cooperative efforts with other professional societies.

MRS directors are elected for threeyear terms. The president-elect serves three years (as president-elect, president, and past president); the secretary is elected for a three-year term; and the treasurer is appointed for an initial one-year term, which may be extended for two additional years (to complete a three-year term) with Board approval. Members of the Board may serve on one of the Board's committees (Executive, Finance and Audit, Governance), Board task forces, or other ad hoc efforts commissioned by the Board.

Terms of office expire at the end of the year indicated in parentheses. The asterisk (*) designates those who are newly elected. The annual election ended August 27, 2020.

2021 MRS OFFICERS

President

Cherie R. Kagan

University of Pennsylvania

Immediate Past President

Matt Copel

IBM T.J. Watson Research Center

Vice President (President-Elect)

* Carolyn R. Duran Intel Corporation

Secretary

Dawnielle Farrar-Gaines Johns Hopkins University

Treasurer

Shenda Baker

Synedgen Inc.

Executive Director

Todd M. Osman

Materials Research Society

*Newly elected.

* Ilke Arslan (2023) Argonne National Laboratory

Leonard J. Brillson (2022) The Ohio State University

Kristen H. Brosnan (2022) **Superior Technical Ceramics**

* Kyoung-Shin Choi (2023) University of Wisconsin-Madison

* Baratunde Cola (2023) Georgia Institute of Technology/ Carbice Corporation

Coray M. Colina (2022) University of Florida

Catherine Dubourdieu (2022) Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin/ Freie Universität Berlin

* Claudia Felser (2023) Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids

Sarah Heilshorn (2021) Stanford University

Frances A. Houle (2021)

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

MÔnica Jung de Andrade (2021)

The University of Texas at Dallas

Sergei V. Kalinin (2021)

Oak Ridge National Laboratory Center for Nanophase Materials Sciences

Kisuk Kang (2021) Seoul National University

Linda S. Schadler (2021) The University of Vermont

Ting Xu (2022) University of California, Berkeley

Yusheng Zhao (2021) Southern University of Science and Technology

*Newly elected.

2021 MRS BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Do you have an announcement about yourself or a Important awards colleague that you'd like to share with the Materials Research Society and materials communities? We will publish a selection of these in upcoming issues of MRS Bulletin.

- ► Research recognition
- ► Recent accomplishment
- ► A significant move
- ▶ And more ...

Send your news to Bulletin@mrs.org. Visit mrs.org/movers-shakers today!

