Award Recipients

Prix de Talloires

Harlan Cleveland, director of the Hubert H. Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs at the University of Minnesota, has been named co-recipient of a \$10,000 prize by a group of international thinkers.

Le Groupe de Talloires, a non-profit organization created last year to stimulate discussion on how economics affect society, chose Cleveland to share its first annual "Prix de Talloires" with French futurist Bertrand de Jouvenel. Each received \$5,000 at the group's 1981 colloquium September 29 through October 2 in Talloires, France.

The award is given annually to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the area of interest the group discusses during its colloquium. This year's theme is the value of the generalist in a world of specialists.

Dirksen Research Grants

The Everett McKinley Dirksen Congressional Leadership Research Center awarded research grants to 12 congressional scholars throughout the United States.

Stipends of up to \$1,000 were given for the projects which deal with the historical development and contemporary nature of congressional leadership.

The following individuals received grants:

R. Douglas Arnold, Princeton University, "The Logic of Congressional Action";

Kenneth Entin, California State College at Stanislaus, "The Leadership Network in the House of Representatives";

Susan Webb Hammond, American University, and **Arthur Stevens,** University of California, Santa Barbara, "Informal Groups and Congressional Leadership";

Samuel Kernell, University of California, San Diego, "Congressional Careers";

Burdett Loomis, University of Kansas, "Congressional Careers and Party Leadership";

John McAdams and **John Johannes**, Marquette University, "Congressional Leaders' Constituency Relations";

Gary W. Reichard, The Ohio State University, "Senate Leaders and the Civil Rights Revolution";

Allen Schick, Congressional Research Service, "Congressional Leadership and the Congressional Budget Process";

Barbara Sinclair, University of California, Riverside, "Majority Party Leadership in the Post-Reform House of Representatives";

Steven S. Smith and **Christopher J. Deering,** The George Washington University, "Policy Leadership in the New Congress"; and

Eric M. Uslaner, University of Maryland, "Congressional Leadership, Energy Policymaking, and the Nature of Policy Agendas."

NSF Recipients

John Aldrich, University of Minnesota, has received an NSF grant to do research on A Model of Party Activism: Its Policy Basis and Its Electoral Consequences.

Raymond Duvall, University of Minnesota, received an NSF grant to do research on Models of Governmental Dynamics in Dependent Societies. Professor John Freeman, MIT, is a co-principal investigator.

Hubert H. Humphrey Award

William A. Harrington and Pathe S. Vivekanathan of the University of North Carolina have won the Hubert H. Humphrey Award for the outstanding article in Volume 2 of the Journal of Health and Human Resources Administration. Their article is titled, "State Government Reor-

People in Political Science

ganization in Human Services: Implications for the Future."

Serving on the Humphrey Award Committee were Robert K. Whelan, Chair, University of North Florida; Lewis Bowman, University of South Florida; Mark Burns, Auburn University; Ronald E. Goertz, Alabama Department of Public Health; Gerald T. O'Neil, Metropolitan Dade County Office of Health Services; Barbara P. Pomeroy, International Year of the Child; A. Robert Thoeny, Tennessee Commission on Higher Education; Thomas C. Webster, C. W. Post Center, Long Island University; and Samuel J. Yeager, Wichita State University.

In Memoriam

John C. Livingston

Dr. John C. "Jack" Livingston, professor of government at California State University, Sacramento, and a vigorous advocate of civil rights and academic freedom, died July 22, after a long battle with cancer. He was 62.

Dr. Livingston, who had been on sick leave the past year, joined the CSUS faculty in 1954 and was acting dean of the school of arts and sciences in 1971 and 1972. A founder of the statewide Academic Senate, he headed the CSUS Academic Senate in 1970, and was head of the Academic Senate of the 19-campus state college system in 1965.

Dr. Livingston was honored in 1966 with the California State Colleges Distinguished Teachers Award.

In 1969 he was acting chairman of the CSUS-based Committee for Support of Higher Education, formed to combat the poor image education in California had acquired in campus crises at the time and to stop punitive legislative then before the Legislature.

Before moving to the CSUS campus, Dr. Livingston taught at the University of Denver and the University of Colorado. While in the Denver area, he helped or-

ganize opposition to the extreme abuses of McCarthyism and worked in defense of academic freedom and civil rights.

In Sacramento, he served on the board of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People from 1962 until 1966; on the Chancellor's Commission on Human Rights from 1966 until 1968, and on the advisory panel of the Teachers' Bill of Rights from 1965 until 1967. A strong advocate of arms control, he was the author of published articles on unilateral disarmament. He also was an outspoken critic of American involvement in the Vietnam War.

An Army infantryman during World War II, he earned a battlefield commission while fighting in the European theater.

Dr. Livingston was a native of Ogden, Utah, and received his bachelor's degree from the University of California at Los Angeles, his master's degree from the University of California at Berkeley and his doctorate from Claremont Graduate School.

He is survived by his wife, Ethel; sons, Cleve of Sacramento, Michael, head rowing coach at the University of California at Berkeley, and George, a student at Berkeley; daughter, Rebecca Harris of Sacramento; and six grandchildren.

Paul R. Murray California State University, Sacramento

Frederick L. Schuman: The Chicago Years

Frederick L. Schuman was connected with the University of Chicago for 17 years, four years as an undergraduate student, three years as a graduate student and ten years as a member of the Department of Political Science then under the leadership of Charles E. Merriam. He received his Ph.B. degree in 1924 and his Ph.D. degree in 1927. As a student, a teacher, a lecturer, and a writer, he achieved an outstanding record. He soon acquired a reputation as a vigorous defender of civil liberties, political democracy, minority rights, and human dignity in the face of Communist