American Society for Legal History

Officers and Directors, 1983

Morris S. Arnold, University of Arkansas at Little Rock School of Law, President

Charles Donahue, Jr., Harvard Law School,

Vice President

Henry J. Bourguignon, University of Toledo College of Law, Secretary

James W. Ely, Jr., Vanderbilt University School of Law, Treasurer

Board of Directors

Barbara A. Black, Yale University Law School

Stephen F. Black, Wilmer, Cutler & Pickering

W. Hamilton Bryson, University of Richmond, T.C. Williams School of Law

James S. Cockburn, University of Maryland

Robert W. Gordon, University of Wisconsin Law School

Thomas A. Green, University of Michigan Law School

Kermit L. Hall, University of Florida

Edith G. Henderson, Harvard Law School

Robert M. Ireland, University of Kentucky

David Konig, Washington University, St. Louis

Michael de L. Landon, University of Mississippi

Paul L. Murphy, University of Minnesota

Kathryn T. Preyer, Wellesley College

Harry N. Scheiber, University of California, San Diego

Mary K. Bonsteel Tachau, University of Louisville

The Society is the professional association in the United States that promotes study, research, and publication in the history of law and legal institutions. American and non-American members receive the Society's official publication, *Law and History Review*, the Society's Newsletter, discounts on volumes in the series *Studies in Legal History*, published by the University of North Carolina, and notices of meetings and conferences on legal history, including the Society's annual meeting.

Regular Membership \$13.00 Student Membership \$7.00

For applications for membership or further information, write to Craig Joyce, Chairman, Membership Committee, Vanderbilt University School of Law, Nashville, Tennessee 37240.