From the Editor

Small, Focused Technical Conferences



The feature article in this issue is a prelude to the Microbeam Analysis Society (MAS) Topical Conference on electron backscatter diffraction (EBSD) to be held at the University of Wisconsin, May 24–26, 2010. The popularity of the EBSD technique is growing rapidly. This analytical method is capable of both identifying crystalline phases and determining the orientation of grains and second phases. Phase analysis by EBSD combined with elemental analysis by x-ray emission spectrometry provides the SEM with extraordinary analytical power. Maps of crystal grain orientations are widely used in metallurgical and geological research.

The above conference is the ninth Topical Conference co-sponsored by MAS since 2002. Previous MAS Topical Conferences covered a variety of topics: quantitative electron beam microanalysis, spectrum imaging and hyperspectral data analysis, metrology, variable-pressure SEM, particle analysis, and EBSD.

These conferences are usually small in size, typically only 100–150 attendees, and inexpensive. This continuing program of small, focused conferences is an important and useful way to promote microscopy and microanalysis, especially for new and rapidly developing methods. This model for topical conferences could be expanded to include all aspects of microscopy including biological light microscopy and scanning probe microscopy.

Charles Lyman Editor-in-Chief

Publication Objective: to provide information of interest to microscopists.

Microscopy Today is a controlled-circulation trade magazine owned by the Microscopy Society of America that is published six times a year in the odd months. Editorial coverage spans all microscopy techniques including light microscopy, scanning probe microscopy, electron microscopy, ion-beam techniques, and the wide range of microanalytical methods. Readers and authors come from both the life sciences and the physical sciences. The typical length of an article is about 2,000 words plus figures and tables; feature articles are longer. Interested authors should consult "Instructions for Contributors" on the *Microscopy Today* website: www.microscopy-today.com.

ISSN 1551-9295

Disclaimer

The Microscopy Society of America and the editors cannot be held responsible for opinions, errors, or for any consequences arising from the use of information contained in *Microscopy Today*. The appearance of advertising in *Microscopy Today* does not constitute an endorsement or approval by the Microscopy Society of America of any claims or information found in the advertisements. By submitting a manuscript to *Microscopy Today*, the author warrants that the article is original or that the author has written permission to use copyrighted material published elsewhere. While the contents of this magazine are believed to be accurate at press time, neither the Microscopy Society of America, the editors, nor the authors can accept legal responsibility for errors or omissions.

© Copyright 2010 by the Microscopy Society of America. All rights reserved.



Editorial Staff

Charles E. Lyman Editor-in-Chief charles.lyman@lehigh.edu (610) 758-4249

Gennifer Levey, Production Manager glevey@meridianartproduction.com (212) 780-0315

Ron Anderson, Executive Editor microscopytoday@tampabay.rr.com Phil Oshel, Technical Editor oshel1pe@cmich.edu

Stephen Carmichael, Columnist carmichael.stephen@mayo.edu

Michael Davidson, Pioneers Editor davidson@magnet.fsu.edu

Steven Barlow, Education Editor sbarlow@sunstroke.sdsu.edu

Thomas E. Phillips, Consulting Editor phillipst@missouri.edu

E. Ann Ellis, *Microscopy 101 Editor* eann.ellis@worldnet.att.net

John Shields, Humor Editor jpshield@uga.edu

Advertising Sales

M.J. Mrvica Associates, Inc. 2 West Taunton Avenue, Berlin, NJ 08009 mjmrvica@mrvica.com (856) 768-9360

Amy Reuter, Account Manager areuter@mrvica.com

Magazine website:

http://www.microscopy-today.com Free subscriptions are available for qualifying individuals

Publisher

Cambridge University Press 32 Avenue of the Americas New York, NY 10013-2473 (212) 337-5000

Circulation: 16,400

Editorial Board

Arlan Benscoter, Lehigh University John Bozzola, Southern Illinois University Peter Crozier, Arizona State University Vinayak Dravid, Northwestern University Joseph Goldstein, University of Massachusetts Bryan Huey, University of Connecticut Thomas Kelly, Imago Corporation John Mackenzie, North Carolina State Univ. Ania Majewska, U. Rochester Med School Greg Meeker, U.S. Geological Survey Joseph Michael, Sandia National Labs Caroline Miller. Indiana University John Reffner, John Jay College, SUNY Ian Robertson, University of Illinois Phillip Russell, Appalachian State University Glenn Shipley, Citizen Microscopist Robert Simmons, Georgia State University Simon Watkins, University of Pittsburgh Paul Webster, House Ear Institute Paul Vovles. University of Wisconsin Cynthia Zeissler, Nat. Inst. of Sci. and Tech. (NIST)