BOARD OF EDITORS OF THE AMERICAN JOURNAL OF INTERNATIONAL LAW

CHARLES NOBLE GREGORY, State University of Iowa.
ROBERT LANSING, Watertown, N. Y.
JOHN BASSETT MOORE, Columbia University.
WILLIAM W. MORROW, San Francisco, Cal.
LEO S. ROWE, University of Pennsylvania.
OSCAR S. STRAUS, Washington, D. C.
GEORGE G. WILSON, Brown University.
THEODORE S. WOOLSEY, Yale University.
DAVID J. HILL, The Hague, European Editor.

Managing Editor,

JAMES BROWN SCOTT, George Washington University.

EDITORIAL COMMENT

LOUIS RENAULT.

On December 10, 1907, the Nobel Prize was awarded to M. Louis Renault, of France, and Ernesto Teodore Moneta, of Italy, President of the Peace Society of Italy.

By his will Alfred B. Nobel, the inventor of dynamite, bequeathed his fortune, estimated at \$9,000,000, as a fund, the interest of which should be distributed yearly to those who had signally contributed to the good of humanity. The interest is divided into five equal shares, of which one is awarded "to the person who in the domain of physics has made the most important discovery or invention, one to the person who has made the most important chemical discovery or invention, one to the person who has made the most important discovery in the domain of medicine or physiology, one to the person who in literature has provided the most excellent work of an idealistic tendency, and one to the person who has worked most or best for the fraternization of nations and the abolition or reduction of standing armies and the calling in and propagating of peace congresses."

The peace prize, with which this note is concerned, has been awarded,

since the institution of the prize, as follows: In 1901, to Henri Dunant (Swiss) and Frédéric Passy (French); 1902, to Elie Ducommun and Albert Gobat (both Swiss); 1903, to W. R. Cremer (English; Sir William Randall Cremer, M. P., created Kt., 1907); 1904, to The Institute of International Law, the first award to an institution; 1905, to Baroness Bertha von Suttner (Austrian); 1906, to Theodore Roosevelt, President of the United States; and in 1907 it was divided between Louis Renault (French) and Ernesto Teodore Moneta (Italian).

While the recipients of the prize have in various fields of activity amply justified the great honor conferred upon them, the award of 1907 appeals with peculiar interest to students of international law, for it is the first award made to a professor of the science, thereby justifying the claim of its votaries that international law makes for peace.

More fortunate than Grotius, the founder of international law, who, driven from his home, found honor and employment in Sweden, the recognized head of our modern science has not only come to honor in Sweden, as did the founder, but is idolized by his fellow-countrymen at home.

The year 1907 has been a year full of honor for Louis Renault. On the 10th of March, 1907, his colleagues and friends, students and former students of the Faculty of Law of Paris and of the Free School of Political Sciences, presented him with a beautiful medallion bearing upon the one side the portrait of the gentle and genial teacher and friend, and on the other the inscription, "To Louis Renault, in testimony of services rendered in the teaching and practice of international law: his students, his colleagues, his friends."

A few months later — to be accurate, from the 15th day of June to the 18th day of October — he dominated the Second Hague Conference, not as a Frenchman or as a member of the French delegation, but as a citizen of the world, the trusted friend and adviser of his colleagues.

On the 10th day of December the Nobel prize committee publicly proclaimed him the friend of humanity.

SECOND ANNUAL MEETING OF THE AMERICAN SOCIETY OF INTERNATIONAL LAW

The American Society of International Law will hold its second annual meeting at Washington in the New Willard Hotel, on April 24 and 25, 1908. The tentative program adopted by the Executive Committee follows: