Association News



The APSA Committee on the Status of Blacks recognized former APSA Executive Director Thomas Mann (left) and Chicago's Mayor Harold Washington (second from left) for service and leadership. Present for the ceremony were (right to left) former APSA President Richard Fenno and Twiley Barker Jr. of the University of Illinois at Chicago.

Mayor Washington and Mann Are Honored at Annual Meeting

Mayor Harold Washington of Chicago and Thomas E. Mann, outgoing APSA Executive Director, were honored by the APSA Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession at the annual meeting. Plaques were presented to Washington and Mann at the Committee's annual reception.

Washington and Mann were recognized for their contributions to the political science discipline and their efforts to improve the status of black Americans. The committee began its awards program nine years ago to commend those who have advanced the interests of black political scientists and have distinguished themselves as scholars, teachers, or activists in civic affairs.

Harold Washington was elected the 42nd Mayor of Chicago on April 12, 1983. His victory as the first black Mayor of Chicago received national attention as he led a successful coalition of voters against the city's traditional political machine. Washington brought to the Mayor's office a background of twenty-five years of government experience, including service as a Member of Congress from Illinois' First Congressional

District, a Senator and Representative in the Illinois Legislature.

Mann served as the APSA Executive Director from 1981 to 1987. Prior to becoming Executive Director, Mann held several positions within the Association, including Director of the Congressional Fellowship Program. He was also honored by the Council at its meeting on September 2, and again at the Annual Business Meeting on September 5. Mann left APSA to become Director of the Brookings Institution's Governmental Studies Program.

Michael Preston of the University of Southern California, chair of the Committee on the Status of Blacks, presided over the awards ceremony. Other members of the committee include: Woodrow Jones, Jr. of San Diego State University; Roger Oden of Governors State University; Gary Orfield of the University of Chicago; and Ernest Wilson of the University of Michigan.

Council Urges NAS to Reconsider Huntington

At its September 2 meeting in Chicago, APSA's Council urged the National Academy of Sciences to reconsider Samuel P. Huntington's nomination to the NAS.

The Council unanimously adopted the following statement:

The discipline of political science and the social sciences, more generally, have been recognized as an integral part of the scientific community by the National Academy of Sciences. Political and social scientists have been elected as members of the Academy and have been active in programs of its National Research Council. Samuel P. Huntington is one of this country's foremost political scientists. Much of the opposition to Huntington's membership in the Academy was based on distressingly uninformed knowledge of his scholarship. Consistent with the Academy's historic commitment to the highest standards of science, the American Political Science Association urges members of the Academy to reconsider their decision.