# MRS Elections in Progress Ballot Return Deadline is September 1, 1988

Ballots have been mailed for the 1988 election of officers and councillors of the Materials Research Society. MRS members can choose four officers (first vice president, second vice president, secretary, and treasurer) and five councillors from a slate of 18 candidates profiled in the current ballot.

The officers are responsible for the daily operation of the Society and oversight of its various committees. They also serve on the MRS Council, the highest governing body of the Materials Research Society. Composed of six MRS officers and 15 elected councillors, Council's responsibility is to determine policy and monitor the Society's progress.

MRS president John E.E. Baglin, a proponent of close membership involvement in shaping the present and future of the Materials Research Society, considers voting "the most effective way for MRS members to express their ideas and preferences." "MRS has always had a very special quality, stemming from the enthusiasm and energy of its volunteers. Such a strong volunteer system arises from the sense that, as MRS members, we consider ourselves personally responsible for the present and future of our Society," said Baglin. "Registering a thoughtful vote in the election of Council and officers is something everyone can do to support MRS and its future," he continued.

In order to be counted, ballots must be received at MRS headquarters by September 1, 1988.

# CANDIDATES

## 

Russell R. Chianelli Leader, Catalytic Materials Group Corporate Research Laboratories Exxon Research & Engineering Company Annandale, New Jersey Barry E. Scheetz

Associate Professor of Solid State Science Senior Research Associate Materials Research Laboratory Pennsylvania State University University Park, Pennsylvania

# Second Vice President — one-year term

Rodney C. Ewing Professor Department of Geology University of New Mexico Albuquerque, New Mexico James B. Roberto Head, Particle Solid Interactions Section Solid State Division Oak Ridge National Laboratory Oak Ridge, Tennessee

### Secretary — two-year term

Julia M. Phillips Member, Technical Staff Interface Physics Research Department AT&T Bell Laboratories Murray Hill, New Jersey Peter P. Pronko Director, Materials Research Division Universal Energy Systems, Inc. Dayton, Ohio

### Treasurer — two-year term

Carol M. Jantzen Ceramist Savannah River Laboratory Aiken, South Carolina

Susan M. Kelso Member, Research Staff Xerox Research Center Palo Alto, California

### Councillor — three-year term

Slade Cargill Senior Manager, Structure of Materials Physical Sciences Department IBM T.J. Watson Research Center Yorktown Heights, New York Wei-Kan Chu

Research Professor of Physics University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Robert H. Doremus New York State Professor of Glass and Ceramics Chairman, Materials Engineering Department Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Troy, New York

Elton N. Kaufmann Associate Leader for Research Materials Division Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory Livermore, California Engineering Professor of Anthropology University of Arizona Tucson, Arizona Gregory J. McCarthy Professor of Chemistry and Geology North Dakota State University Fargo, North Dakota Gordon E. Pike Supervisor, Electronic Properties of Materials Division Sandia National Laboratories Albuquerque, New Mexico

Professor of Materials Science and

W. David Kingery

Arthur W. Sleight Research Leader, Central Research Department E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Company Wilmington, Delaware Frans Spaepen Gordon McKay Professor of Applied Physics Harvard University Cambridge, Massachusetts Kathleen C. Taylor Head, Physical Chemistry Department General Motors Research Laboratories Warren, Michigan