

# THE AERONAUTICAL JOURNAL Covering all aspects of aerospace

Volume 123 Number 1262

**April 2019** 





## THE **AERONAUTICAL** JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief: Professor Holger Babinsky

**Editorial Board** Chairman: Professor Mike Graham Deputy Chairman: Professor Chris Atkin

### Associate Editors

**Dr Guy Gratton** Cranfield University

Professor Ismet Gursul

Professor Li He

**Professor Michael Henshaw** Loughborough University

**Professor Konstantinos Kontis** University of Glasgow

Professor Jim McGuirk Loughborough University

DSTL

University of Milan

University of Sheffield

Queen's University, Belfast

**Professor Jason Ralph** University of Liverpool

Dr G Satheesh Reddy MoD. India

Professor Kenichi Rinoie University of Tokyo

**Professor Ulrich Rist** University of Stuttgart, Germany

> Carl Russell NASA Ames, USA

**Dr Matthew Santer** Imperial College, London

Professor Ömer Savas University of California, Berkeley

**Professor Shahrokh Shahpar** Rolls-Royce, Derby

**Professor Howard Smith** Cranfield University

**Professor Marilyn Smith** Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

**Professor Constantinos Soutis** University of Manchester

**Professor Anthony Waas** University of Washington, USA

**Professor Victor Giurgiutiu** University of South Carolina

**Professor Christian Allen** 

University of Bristol

**Professor George Barakos** 

University of Glasgow

Professor Cees Bil

RMIT University, Australia

Professor Rene de Borst

University of Sheffield

Professor Jonathan Cooper

University of Bristol

Peter Curtis

Aircraft Research Association

Professor Laurent Dala

University of Northumbria

Professor Dimitris Drikakis

University of Nicosia, Cyprus

Professor Brian Falzon

Queen's University, Belfast

**Professor Antonio Filippone** 

University of Manchester

**Professor Song Fu** 

Tsinghua University, China

Professor Ed Galea

Greenwich University

#### Aims and Scope

The aims and scope of The Aeronautical Journal are intended to reflect the objectives of the Royal Aeronautical Society as expressed in its Charter of Incorporation. Briefly, these are to encourage and foster the advancement of all aspects of aeronautical and space science. Thus the topics of The Aeronautical Journal include most of those covered by the various Specialist Groups of the Society. Topics covered in The Aeronautical Journal include:

Aircraft design, aerodynamics, airworthiness and maintenance, air traffic management, avionics and systems, composites, environmental issues, flight operations, flight simulation, fluid dynamics, fluid mechanics, guided flight, human factors, human powered flight, light aviation, propulsion, rotorcraft, safety, space, structures and materials, structural mechanics and UAVs.

Papers are solicited on all aspects of research, design and development, construction and operation of aircraft and space vehicles. Papers are also welcomed which review, comprehensively, the results of recent research developments in any of the above topics. We recognise the inhibiting pressures of time and confidentiality, and acknowledge that many of the design testing, manufacturing and operational problems that industry has to solve contain important information for the whole aerospace community. Be assured that The Aeronautical Journal provides a renowned platform for refereeing and presenting your work to the broadest international audience. Papers will be considered for publication in The Aeronautical Journal if they meet the terms and conditions listed in our instructions for

authors available at: http://journals.cambridge.org/AER. If these are not met, the Editor reserves the right to withdraw the paper without redress, which may be at any time up to publication.

Enquiries should be sent to: Wayne J Davis, RAeS Production Editor: aerojournal@aerosociety.com Subscription enquiries should be sent to: journals@cambridge.org Papers should be submitted at: www.edmgr.com/aeroj

University of Bath

University of Oxford

Dr Arnab Maiumdar Imperial College, London

Professor Jack McNamara Ohio State University

**Dr Richard Markiewicz** 

**Professor Pierangelo Masarati** 

**Professor Ning Qin** 

Professor Srinivasan Raghunathan