# From the Editor

Editor Retires



Eleven years ago, in 2009, I was appointed Editor-in-Chief of this magazine. Twenty years ago I was appointed Editor-in-Chief of *Microscopy and Microanalysis*. Thirty years ago I was elected President of the then Electron Microscopy Society of America. As President-elect, I asked several society members what they thought the Society needed. David Joy suggested a journal. After investigating several ways to acquire a journal, *EMSA Bulletin* Editor Joe Harb helped me create a demonstration "journal issue." From these efforts three things became clear: the Society must own the journal title, advertising was required to support the journal, and a publisher was needed for production and distribution. In just a dozen years, *Microscopy and Microanalysis* (MAM) made its mark among journals dedicated to microscopy: in 2008, 2010, and 2018 it was ranked the #1 microscopy Journal. After nine years of editing our journal, I was asked to take responsibility for *Microscopy Today* (MTO). With the present issue I am retiring from editing MTO and from my long MSA editing career. Bob Price, former MAM editor and my long-time advisor, will become MTO editor in January.

*Microscopy Today* was begun by Don Grimes as a four-page newsletter in 1992. After MSA purchased MTO in 2002, Ron Anderson self-published it for the Society. Self-publishing here meant that Ron and his wife Dale did almost everything: Ron and Technical Editor Phil Oshel solicited and edited the articles, which were then typeset on Ron's computer, proofed by Ron and Dale, and sent off to the printer. Ron and Dale independently operated a successful magazine, but I would need a publisher.

In 2009 the Society engaged Cambridge University Press (CUP) to publish MTO. Managing Publisher Aaron Johnson immediately made three decisions for which I am particularly grateful: providing a designer to re-style the look and feel of MTO, hiring Mrvica Associates to handle the advertising, and hiring Gennifer Levey to manage production. I thank everyone at CUP, especially Gennifer.

My personal thanks go to our authors, advertisers, editors, and editorial board members. Our editorial staff members have been diligent supporters of MTO. In fact, the following editors contributed their time and effort over my entire editorship: Ron Anderson (Industry and Product News), Phil Oshel (article solicitation and senior advisor), Stephen Carmichael (reviews), Thomas Phillips (retiring NetNotes editor), Paul Webster (calendar), and John Shields (humor). I also thank the chief judges of our innovation and micrograph competitions, Tom Kelly and Robert Simmons. Finally, I thank our loyal readers and advertisers, many of whom have contributed articles about their research, practical tips, or information about new products and methods.

I have enjoyed my years editing MSA publications. I feel confident that editors John Mansfield (*Microscopy and Microanalysis*) and Bob Price (*Microscopy Today*) will take our publications to new heights.

Charles Lyman Editor-in-Chief

Publication Objective: to provide information of interest to microscopists.

*Microscopy Today* is a controlled-circulation trade magazine owned by the Microscopy Society of America that is published six times a year in the odd months. Editorial coverage spans all microscopy techniques including light microscopy, scanning probe microscopy, electron microscopy, ion-beam techniques, and the wide range of microanalytical methods. Readers and authors come from both the life sciences and the physical sciences. The typical length of an article is about 2,000 words plus figures and tables; feature articles are longer. Interested authors should consult "Instructions for Contributors" on the Microscopy Today website: www.microscopy-today.com.

# ISSN 1551-9295

## Disclaimer

The Microscopy Society of America and the editors cannot be held responsible for opinions, errors, or for any consequences arising from the use of information contained in *Microscopy Today*. The appearance of advertising in *Microscopy Today* does not constitute an endorsement or approval by the Microscopy Society of America of any claims or information found in the advertisements. By submitting a manuscript to *Microscopy Today*, the author warrants that the article is original or that the author has written permission to use copyrighted material published elsewhere. While the contents of this magazine are believed to be accurate at press time, neither the Microscopy Society of America, the editors, nor the authors can accept legal responsibility for errors or omissions.

© Copyright 2019 by the Microscopy Society of America. All rights reserved.

# Microscopy

# Editorial Staff

Charles E. Lyman, *Editor-in-Chief* charles.lyman@lehigh.edu (610) 674-7600

Gennifer Levey, Production Manager glevey@meridianartpro.com (212) 780-0315

Ron Anderson, Executive Editor randerson20@tampabay.rr.com

Phil Oshel, Technical Editor

oshel1pe@cmich.edu Robert Price, Associate Editor-in-Chief

bob.price@uscmed.sc.edu

Stephen Carmichael, Columnist carmichael.stephen@mayo.edu

Eric Clark, Pioneers Editor eclark@magnet.fsu.edu

Richard Edelmann, Education Editor

edelmare@miamioh.edu

Deb Kelly, Microscopy 101 Editor debkelly@psu.edu

Paul Webster, Calendar Editor

p.webster@oak-crest.org

John Shields, Humor Editor

johnshields59@gmail.com

Nikolaus Cordes, Digital Content Editor nikolaus.cordes@inl.gov

Thomas Kelly, Chief Innovation Judge Thomas.kelly@ametek.com

Robert Simmons, Chief Micrograph Judge robert.simmons@briarwillow.com

# Advertising Sales

M.J. Mrvica Associates, Inc. 2 West Taunton Avenue, Berlin, NJ 08009 mjmrvica@mrvica.com (856) 768-9360 Kelly Miller, Account Manager

kmiller@mrvica.com

## Magazine website:

http://www.microscopy-today.com Free subscriptions are available.

## Publisher

Cambridge University Press One Liberty Plaza, 20th Floor New York, New York 10006 (212) 337-5000

Circulation: 18,000

# **Editorial Board**

Nasim Alem, Penn State University Arlan Benscoter, Lehigh University John Bozzola, Southern Illinois University Peter Crozier, Arizona State University Vinayak Dravid, Northwestern University David Grubb, Cornell University Bryan Huey, University of Connecticut Heather Lowers, U.S. Geological Survey John Mackenzie, North Carolina State Univ. Paul Maddox, U. of North Carolina-Chapel Hill Ania Majewska, U. Rochester Med School Joseph Michael, Sandia National Labs Caroline Miller, Indiana University Brian M. Patterson, Los Alamos National Lab John Reffner, John Jay College, SUNY Ian Robertson, University of Wisconsin Phillip Russell, Appalachian State University Bradley Thiel, SUNY Polytechnic Institute Simon Watkins, University of Pittsburgh Cynthia Zeissler, Nat. Inst. of Stds. and Tech. (NIST)