COMMISSION 15: PHYSICAL STUDIES OF ASTEROIDS AND COMETS

(L'ETUDE PHYSIQUE DES ASTEROIDES ET COMETES)

PRESIDENT: H. Uwe Keller VICE-PRESIDENT: E.F. Tedesco ORGANIZING COMMITTEE: G. Cremonese, W. Huebener, A. Cellino, M.T. Capria, A. Harris, N. Kiselev, L.-A. McFadden, K. Meech, T. Michalowski, K. Muinonen, M.V. Sykes, J. Watanabe, R.M. West

This report presents the minutes of the two Commission 15 Business Meetings held during General Assembly 25.

1. Meeting Opening

The President opened the Business Meeting, welcoming members, consultants, and other interested audience. There were approximately 30 people in attendance. The agenda as presented by the President was adopted.

2. Deceased Members

The members stood for a moment in silence in honor of distinguished members of the Commission that had died during the preceding triennium.

3. New Commission Officers

The Commission elected the following Officers for the new triennium: President - E. Tedesco (USA), Vice-President - W. F. Huebner (USA), Chair of the Working Group for Comets - T. Yamamoto (Japan), Chair of the Working Group for Minor Planets - A. Cellino (Italy), and Members of the Organizing Committee - A. Harris (Germany), N. Kiselev (Ukraine), L.-A. McFadden (USA), T. Michalowski (Poland), K. Muinonen (Finland), H. Reitsema (USA), M. V. Sykes (USA).

4. New Members and Consultants

The Commission elected 15 new members and consultants: R. Lynne Allen (USA/Canada), P. Bendjoya (Spain), S.J. Bus (USA), D. Davis (USA), M. Delbo (Italy), A. Dell'Oro (Italy), A. Campo Bagatin (Spain), P. Jenniskens (USA), J.-L. Margot (USA), V. Meadows (USA), P. Pravec (Czech Rep.), W. Reach (USA), L. Saba (Italy), P. Tanga (France), and J. Virtanen (Finland).

5. Triennial Commission Report

The Commission decided to continue preparing the Triennial Report as for the three preceding reports: the research descriptions will be included in the printed version, while the references will be made available on the Commission's web site.

6. Commission Working Groups

6.1. Working Group for Minor Planets

The meeting was chaired by E. Tedesco since the current chair, A. Cellino, had been delayed enroute. As before, the Working Group for Minor Planets is formed by voluntary membership of those, who, e.g., wish to contribute to the Triennial Report. Topics discussed included: the accuracy of the absolute magnitudes, a possible wave-band change of the asteroid absolute magnitude system from V to R, and the uses which people make of asteroid absolute magnitudes.

It was decided that the WGMP web site will be relocated but a new URL for it is not yet available.

6.2. Working Group for Comets

The Working Group for Comets chair, W. F. Huebner reported that the WGC discussed plans for a meeting on cometary/ISM compositions during their meeting.

7. Other

The restructuring of IAU Commissions dominated the meeting. A written justification, presumably submitted to the IAU EC by the Division, giving the accomplishments and objectives of each Commission will be required by the 2009 General Assembly in order for them to remain in existence.

Since most people attending the GA learned of this proposal only after arriving in Sydney, no consensus regarding what to do in practice was reached. Instead, it was decided to discuss this among the Division III membership, as well as within each of the Division III Commissions and Working Groups, during the next three years and to present the results of those discussions at the next General Assembly.

R. Schultz proposed the following resolution which, after some discussion and rewording, was adopted: Commission 15, noting that comets are highly variable and noting that there are two missions to comets in the next triennium, strongly urges observers and observatory directors to provide extended observations around the times of the encounters, 2 January 2004 for stardust at Comet Wild 2 and 4 July 2005 for Deep Impact at Comet Tempel 1.

H. Uwe Keller President of the Commission