Message from the Editor

As the official publication of four separate Societies, the Canadian Journal of Neurological Sciences receives manuscripts covering a wide range of topics in the clinical and basic neurosciences. To enable the Journal to continue to serve its various constituencies effectively and to deal with the increasing numbers of manuscripts which are being submitted, it has been decided to add two new Associate Editors to the Editorial Board. Bryce Weir of Edmonton will take on primary responsibility for manuscripts dealing with neurosurgical topics; Terry Picton of Ottawa will focus his attention on papers in the field of clinical neurophysiology. Neither Dr. Weir nor Dr. Picton are strangers to the Journal, both having served as valuable members of the Editorial Board for the past several years. They will join Harvey Sarnat and Yves Lamarre who will continue in their roles as Associate Editors.

In addition we wish to welcome some new faces to the Editorial Board. These include Donald Calne (Vancouver), Richard Stein (Edmonton), John Girvin (London), Richard Riopelle (Kingston), Richard Leblanc (Montreal), and Pierre Duquette (Montreal). Several other members of the Board have completed their terms and will be stepping down. This group includes Guy Geoffroy, André Olivier, John Murphy, Skip Peerless, and Donald Paty. The Journal is grateful to these individuals for their assistance over the past several years.

The scientific quality of the Journal is very dependent on our external reviewers who work in anonymity without any reward, financial or otherwise, except for the satisfaction of seeing high quality papers eventually appear in press. Listed below are the names of individuals who have served as external reviewers during the past eighteen months. We gratefully acknowledge their contribution to the peer review process.

Robert G. Lee, M.D.

F. Andermann
J. Antel
P. Ashby
Y. Archibald
H.J.M. Barnett
D. Baxter
L.E. Becker
P. Bedard
C. Bolton
W. Blume
K. Brownell
J. Bruni
G. Cairncross
D. Calne
P. Camfield
S. Carpenter
N. Cashman
A. Clark
D. Cochrane
S. Coupland
B. Corenblume
M. D'Amour
H. Darwish
A.S. Detsky
H.B. Dinsdale
L. Dolman
P. Duquette
1. Daquette

G.C. Ebers

G. Klein
Y. Lamarre
A. Lang
F.E. Leblanc
D. Lee
M.A. Lee
E. Love
M. Low
S.K. Ludwin
F. Maroun
W. Martin
W. McCormick
D. McLachlan
R. McLachlan
D. Melancon
J.A. Mortimer
J. Murkin
N.M.F. Murray
G. Murphy
T. Myles
J. Norris
A. Olivier
E. Pajurkova
D. Paty
S. Peerless
T. Picton
W. Pryse-Phillip
A.H. Rajput
J. Reiher

R. Riopelle W. Robertson G. Ronen R.T. Ross J. Sanes M. Schwartz P. Seland K. Semchuk S. Seshia A.A.F. Sima M. Spence R. Stein J. Stewart O. Suchowersky C. Tator R.P. Tasker M. Taylor B. Tranmer C. Van Orman S. Verret G. Watters B. Weir J. Wherrett W. Whitelaw G. Wortzman P. Wong B. Young