## THE REVIEW OF POLITICS

University of Notre Dame Summer 1989

## THE REVIEW OF POLITICS

Editor DONALD P. KOMMERS

Managing Editor DENNIS WM MORAN

Book Review Editor WALTER NICGORSKI

Associate Editors Philip Gleason T E. A. Goerner 7

Thomas Stritch Thomas Werge

Former Editors Waldemar Gurian 7 M. A. Fitzsimons Fre

Thomas Stritch Frederick J. Crosson

**Editorial Advisory Board** 

Henry J. Abraham University of Virginia **Charles W. Anderson** University of Wisconsin-Madison Shlomo Avineri Hebrew University of Jerusalem **Robert F. Byrnes** Indiana University **Ernest L. Fortin Boston College Gerald Garvev Princeton University** Penny T. Gill **Mount Holyoke College** 

**J. David Greenstone** University of Chicago Arend Lijphart University of California-San Diego Alasdair MacIntyre University of Notre Dame Harvey C. Mansfield, Jr. **Harvard** University John R. Schmidhauser **University of Southern** California **Kenneth W. Thompson** University of Virginia **Glenn Tinder** University of Massachusetts-Boston

Editorial Intern Mike Lattanzi

THE REVIEW OF POLITICS, without neglecting the analysis of institutions and techniques, is primarily interested in the philosophical and historical approach to political realities.

The articles in THE REVIEW OF POLITICS are indexed in the International Index to Periodicals and the Index of Catholic Periodicals and abstracted in the International Political Science Abstracts. They are abstracted and indexed in ABC POL. SCI. and HISTORICAL ABSTRACTS and SOCIAL SCIENCES INDEX.

THE REVIEW OF POLITICS (ISSN 0034-6705) is published quarterly for \$25.00 per year in the United States (Individual, \$20.00); foreign \$28.00 (Individual \$23.00); single copies, \$6.25 (domestic) and \$7.00 (foreign) by The University of Notre Dame, P.O. Box B, Notre Dame, IN 46556. Second-class postage paid at Notre Dame, IN. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to THE REVIEW OF POLITICS, P.O. Box B, Notre Dame, IN 46556.

## THE REVIEW OF POLITICS

Published Quarterly by the University of Notre Dame, Indiana

Vol. 5	I Summer 1989	No. 3
Louis	DUPRÉ AND WILLIAM O'NEILL, S.J. Social Structures and Structural Ethics	. 327
CLIFFO	Drd Orwin	
	Thucydides' Contest: Thucydidean "Methodology" in Context	. 345
Місн	NEL PALMER	
	Machiavellian virtù and Thucydidean aretē: Traditional Virtue and Political Wisdom in Thucydides	. 365
E. Ge	ne Frankland	
	Parliamentary Politics and the Development of the Green Party in West Germany	
Nicho	das Opanasets	
	More Platonism	. 412
Reviews	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
	Steven Forde: Protagoras, Thucydides and Democritus as Democratic Theorists.	. 436
	J. Jackson Barlow: Analyzing Rome's Decline	. 438
	Thomas G. West: Educating for Liberty	. 440
	Robert A. Goldwin: Listening to Madison	
	Kent A. Kirwan: George Washington's Self-Making	
	Jeff Burnam: Presidential Leadership on the Hill	
	Daniel P. Franklin: The Presidential Nay	
	John R. Johannes: Constituent Service and the "Incumbency Effect" Michael J. Francis: International Politics and the Limits of Theory-Building .	
	Damian Leader: Diplomacy as Mediation of Alienation	
	Gerald C. Hay, Jr.: Simon's Account of French Nazification	
	Robert H. Ferrell: Truman and the Origins of the Cold War	
	Nathaniel Davis: The Rise and Fall of the Chilean Left	
	Teresa Godwin Phelps: Posner's Protest and Perplexities	. 469

## **Contributors to This Issue**

LOUIS DUPRÉ is the T. Lawrason Riggs Professor of the Philosophy of Religion in Yale University; his most recent book is *Marx's Social Critique of Culture*. WILLIAM O'NEILL, S.J., is a member of the faculty of the Jesuit School of Theology at Berkeley. CLIFFORD ORWIN is Professor of Political Science and Fellow of St. Michael's College in the University of Toronto. MICHAEL PALMER is Assistant Professor of Political Science in the University of Maine. E. GENE FRANKLAND is Professor of Political Science in Ball State University, Muncie, Indiana. NICHOLAS OPANASETS is a member of the Political Science Department in SUNY-Oswego.

STEVEN FORDE is Assistant Professor of Political Science in the University of North Texas. J. JACKSON BARLOW is Associate Director for Higher Education Programs and Staff Historian for the Commission on the Bicentennial of the United States Constitution. THOMAS G. WEST teaches politics in the University of Dallas. ROBERT A. GOLDWIN is Director of Constitutional Studies in the American Enterprise Institute. KENT A. KIRWAN teaches political science in the University of Nebraska at Omaha. JEFF BURNAM is Professional Staff Member in the United States Senate. DANIEL P. FRANKLIN is Assistant Professor of Political Science in Colgate University. JOHN R. JO-HANNES is Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and Professor of Political Science in Marquette University. MICHAEL J. FRANCIS is Professor of Government in the University of Notre Dame. DAMIAN LEADER is with the U.S. State Department in Washington, D.C. GERALD C. HAY, JR., is Professor of Philosophy in John Carroll University. ROBERT H. FERRELL is Professor Emeritus of History in Indiana University. NATHANIEL DAVIS is Alexander and Adelaide Hixon Professor of Humanities, Harvey Mudd College of Claremont, California. TERESA GODWIN PHELPS is Associate Professor of Law in the University of Notre Dame Law School.

INSTRUCTIONS TO CONTRIBUTORS

All manuscripts should be submitted in QUADRUPLICATE to *The Review of Politics*, Box B, Notre Dame, IN 46556. If the return of the manuscript is desired, a stamped, self-addressed envelope should be enclosed. All typewritten material should be double-spaced, including notes and quotations; photocopies of a good quality are acceptable. *The Review* follows the *Chicago Manual of Style* for standards of citation, punctuation and other editorial considerations. The normal length of manuscripts published is 25-30 pages. Longer manuscripts will be evaluated in light of the limited printing space available. Since manuscripts are evaluated anonymously they should not bear the author's name or institutional affiliation. Submissions should be sent with an ABSTRACT of 100-150 words. All correspondence regarding book reviews should be sent to Mr. Walter Nicgorski at the above address.