THE AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

President:	G. B. Preston	Department of Mathematics, Monash University Clayton, Vic. 3168
Secretary:	W. R. BLOOM	School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences, Murdoch University, Murdoch, W.A. 6153
Treasurer.	B. D. Jones	Department of Mathematics, University of Queensland, St. Lucia, Qld. 4067
Associate Treasurer:	D. G. Tacon	School of Mathematics, University of New South Wales, Kensington, N.S.W. 2033
Membership subscriptions (for 1984):	Ordinary members: Reciprocal and reduced rate members: Sustaining members: Institutional members:	A\$38 (or \$32 if paid before 31 December 1983) A\$19 (or \$16 if paid before 31 December 1983) A\$76 (or \$64 if paid before 31 December 1983) A\$333 (this includes all publications)

Reciprocity agreements: Such agreements have been made with a number of other mathematical societies. Under the agreements members of the other societies who are not normally resident in Australia may join the Australian Mathematical Society at half the current rates.

Membership and correspondence: Applications for membership, notice of change of address or title or position, and other correspondence, except as noted below, should be sent to the Secretary. Member's subscriptions and correspondence related to accounts should be sent to the Associate Treasurer. Correspondence about the distribution of the Society's GAZETTE, JOURNAL and BULLETIN, and orders for back numbers, should be sent to the Treasurer.

Members of the Society receive copies of the GAZETTE free, and may subscribe to any of the Society's research publications, the JOURNAL (Series A) for A\$20, the JOURNAL (Series B) for A\$14 and the BULLETIN for A\$17 (for the year 1984). For reduced rate members the subscription rates are half those quoted.

OTHER PUBLICATIONS OF THE SOCIETY

The JOURNAL SERIES B. This series contains papers on applied mathematics. It is published in volumes comprising four parts, starting with Volume XIX Part 1, 1975. One volume of 4 parts will be published in 1984, the price to non-members is A\$84.00 for 1984. Typescripts for publication should be sent to the Editor,

Professor W. E. SMITH, School of Mathematics, University of New South Wales, Kensington, N.S.W. 2033, Australia

The BULLETIN of the Australian Mathematical Society began publication in 1969. It aims at quick publication of original research in all branches of mathematics. Normally two volumes of three parts are published annually. The price to non-members is A\$126.00 for 1984. Each paper for publication should include an abstract and a 1980 Mathematics Subject Classification. Three copies of the typescript should be sent to the Editor.

Dr S. A. MORRIS, Department of Mathematics, La Trobe University, Bundoora, Victoria 3083, Australia

The *GAZETTE* started publication in 1974 and carries news items, mathematical articles of general interest, and articles on tertiary mathematics teaching. The price to non-members is A\$25.00 for 1984. Typescripts for publication should be sent to the Editor,

Dr J. D. GRAY, School of Mathematics, University of New South Wales, Kensington, N.S.W. 2033, Australia

Editor of the Journal, Series A T. E. Hall, Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168 Associate Editors

C. J. Ash—logic, Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168

P. E. Blanksby—number theory,
Department of Pure Mathematics,
University of Adelaide,
Adelaide, S.A. 5001

Gavin Brown—harmonic analysis, University of New South Wales, P.O. Box 1, Kensington, N.S.W. 2033

T. C. Brown—probability and statistics, Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168

H. Lausch—groups, Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168 R. Lidl—algebra Department of Mathematics, University of Tasmania, Box 252C, G.P.O., Hobart, Tasmania 7001

K. Mackenzie—differential geometry, Department of Mathematics, University of Melbourne, Parkville, Victoria 3052

B. Mond—operations research programming, games,
Department of Pure Mathematics,
La Trobe University,
Bundoora, Victoria 3083

W. Moran—harmonic analysis,
Department of Pure Mathematics,
University of Adelaide,
G.P.O. Box 498,
Adelaide, S.A. 5001

G. R. Morris—differential equations, Department of Mathematics, University of New England, Armidale, N.S.W. 2351 J. H. Rubinstein—topology, Department of Mathematics, University of Melbourne, Parkville, Victoria 3052

R. H. Street—categories, School of Mathematics & Physics, Macquarie University, North Ryde, N.S.W. 2113

D. E. Taylor—groups, Department of Pure Mathematics, University of Sydney, Sydney, N.S.W. 2006

R. O. Vyborny—abstract analysis, partial differential equations, complex functions in one variable,

Department of Mathematics, University of Queensland, St. Lucia, Queensland 4067

W. Wallis—combinatorics, Department of Mathematics, University of Newcastle, Newcastle, N.S.W. 2308

Assistant Editors

G. Virsik, Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168 G. C. Smith, Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168

Correspondence concerning the printing of papers after their acceptance of publication should be addressed to G. Virsik.

Copyright Statement

Where necessary, permission to photocopy for internal or personal use or the internal or personal use of specific clients is granted by the Treasurer, Australian Mathematical Publishing Association, Inc., to libraries and other users registered with the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), provided that the base fee of \$A2.00 per copy of article is paid directly to CCC, 21 Congress Street, Salem, MA 01970, U.S.A. Special requests should be addressed to the Treasurer, Australian Mathematical Publishing Association, Inc., c/-Department of Mathematics, University of Queensland, St. Lucia, Qld. 4067, Australia. Serial-fee code: 0263-6115/84 \$A2.00 + 0.00.