1970 APSA Election Results

American Arbitration Association Report of 1970 APSA Election

Pursuant to a request from the American Political Science Association, hereinafter referred to as APSA, the American Arbitration Association, hereinafter referred to as the Administrator, agreed to conduct a mail ballot for the election of officers as well as proposed constitutional amendments and resolutions.

The election was conducted pursuant to and in accordance with the Election Rules of the Administrator.

Ballots were mailed by the Administrator to all eligible members of APSA on November 2, 1970. To be valid, ballots had to be postmarked no later than November 23, 1970.

The counting of the ballots took place in the office of the Administrator at 140 West 51st Street, New York City on November 30, 1970, under the supervision of the undersigned in the presence of an observer. The secrecy of the ballot was maintained at all times.

Eight Thousand Five Hundred and Fifty Nine (8,559) ballots were received by the Administrator. One Hundred and Seventy Three (173) envelopes were void on the following basis:

72 No identification on envelope

- 29 No signature on return envelope
- 13 Duplicates
- 59 Late postmark

The results are certified to be as follows:

Officers Election

President Elect	
*Heinz Eulau	4,711
Hans Morgenthau	3,563
Vice President	
*Edward C. Banfield	5,228
*John A. Davis	4,607
Richard Falk	3,619
*Victoria Schuck	4,912
David Spitz	4,555
Secretary	
* Thomas R. Dye	5,553
Edward Malecki	2,611
Treasurer	
*Donald R. Matthews	5,792
Ben Stavis	2,438

Member of the Council for Two Years	
*Chadwick F. Alger	4,544
Emily Card	2,522
Bernard C. Cohen	3,606
*Philip E. Converse	5,195
*Fred I. Greenstein	4,004
Ralph Guzman	3,080
David Kettler	3,409
*Joyce M. Mitchell	4,503
Samuel C. Patterson	3,299
Charles Press	2,333
*James W. Prothro	4,939
Marcus Raskin	2,761
*William P. Robinson, Sr.	5,233
*Dankwart A. Rustow	4,225
Mulford Sibley	3,204
*Gordon Tullock	4,057

Proposed Constitutional Amendments and Resolutions

nçavialiono	
I.A Constitutional Amendments	
(Membership and Dues)	
Accept	5,138
Reject	1,385
I.B Constitutional Amendments	
(Mail Ballot on Resolutions)	
Accept	5,545
Reject	1,041
I.C. Constitutional Amendments	
(Objects of the Association)	
Accept	2,888
Reject	3,583
II.1 Resolutions	
(Involvement of Political Science in Environm	nental
Issues)	
Accept	3,569
Reject	2,837
II.2 Resolutions	
(Termination of Congressional Fellowship Pr	ogram)
Accept	1,183
Reject	5,282
II.3 Resolutions	-,
(Allocation of Panels at Annual Meetings to	
Caucus for a New Political Science)	
Accept	1,924
Reject	4,672
II.4 Resolutions	.,
(APSA Urging Department of Justice Investig	ation
of Los Angeles Riot of August 29, 1970)	
Accept	1,284
Reject	5,167
II.5 Resolutions	0,101
(APSA Development of Alternative for Admis	sion
and Training of Chicanos for the Profession)	
Accept	1,779
Reject	4,513
neject	4,010

II.6 Resolutions	
(APSA Support of Chicano Caucus Scholars'	
Research)	
Accept	1,367
Reject	4,928
II.7 Resolutions	
(APSA Funding of Research on East Los Angeles	
Riot)	
Accept	1,538
Reject	4,744
III Ratification of Dues	
Approve	3,626
Disapprove	3,004

Margaret U. Carison

Election Director American Arbitration Association January 6, 1971

APSA State and Local Government Internship Program

The Association's State and Local Government Intership Program Advisory Committee has announced 15 grants for 1971-72 under a program sponsored by the Ford Foundation to stimulate teaching and research in the field of state and local government. The Committee is chaired by Charles B. Hagan, University of Houston. Other members are Paul L. Beckett, Washington State University; Franklin L. Burdette, University of Maryland; Chester B. Earle, American University; Thomas A. Flinn, Cleveland State University; and Donald G. Herzberg, Eagleton Institute of Politics.

The Committee made 15 grants, 9 of which were renewals. Receiving grants were American University, University of Connecticut, University of Oklahoma, Temple University, Wayne State University, Yale University, University of California, Santa Barbara, University of California, Los Angeles, Columbia University, University of Minnesota, University of Utah, University of Minnesota, University of Maryland, University of Michigan, Washington University, St. Louis, and West Virginia University.

APSA Committees

The following is a list of Association Committees and members who have been appointed by Presidents of the Association. Members of the Association are invited to correspond with the Chairman of any Committee concerning subjects with which his or her Committee is dealing.

Constitutional Revision Committee

Victor G. Rosenblum, Acting Chairman, Northwestern University Sandra G. Bogner, University of Florida Richard F. Fenno, Jr., University of Rochester Alex Gottfried, University of Washington Michael Haas, Northwestern University Charles V. Hamilton, Columbia University Robert E. Hawkinson, University of Chicago Donald G. Herzberg, Eagleton Institute of Politics Herbert Jacob, University of Wisconsin Avery Leiserson, Vanderbilt University John D. Lewis, Oberlin College Walter F. Murphy, Princeton University James W. Prothro, University of North Carolina Rudolph J. Rummel, University of California, Berkelev Judith N. Shklar, Harvard University Sidney Verba, University of Chicago

Kenneth N. Waltz, *Brandeis University* Aaron Wildavsky, *University of California, Berkeley*

Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession

Paul L. Puryear, Chairman, Florida State University
Russell L. Adams, Federal City College
Twiley W. Barker, Jr., University of Illinois
Lenore Cartwright, University of Illinois
Samuel D. Cook, Ford Foundation
C. Vernon Gray, Oakland University
Robert E. Martin, Howard University
Frank L. Morris, M.I.T.
Michael J. Parenti, University of Vermont
William P. Robinson, Sr., Norfolk State College
Harry M. Scoble, Jr., University of California, Los Angeles
Shelby Lewis Smith, Southern University

Nathaniel P. Tillman, Jr., Olive-Harvey College Alex Willingham, University of North Carolina Maurice C. Woodard, Federal City College

Editorial Board of PS

James David Barber, Chairman, Yale University John A. Davis, City University of New York Betty Glad, University of Illinois Barbara A. Hinckley, Cornell University Henry S. Kariel, University of Hawaii Martin Landau, University of California, Berkeley