Ecclesiastical Law Journal

Volume 3

CONTENTS

Editorial	198
Society Conference	201
The Annual Conference 1994	211
Report of the Seventh AGM	213
Famous English Canon Lawyers: VII. John Godolphin and Richard Burn	214
Law, Theology and History in the judgments of Chancellor Garth Moore	223
Consensus and the Constitution	232
Church Legislation in the Isle of Man K. F. W. Gumbley	240
Recent Legislative Developments: England	249
Recent Legislative Developments: Church in Wales	250
Recent Legislative Developments: Church of Ireland	252
Book Reviews: High and Mitred, Prime Ministers as Bishop-Makers	253
Lo Castro, Gaetano: Les Prélatures Personelles Aperçus Juridiques	254
Recent Consistory Court Cases Chancellor Timothy Briden	255
Letters to the Editor.	262

The Journal of the Ecclesiastical Law Society

The Ecclesiastical Law Journal is published by the Ecclesiastical Law Society. Decisions on the publication of individual articles are at the discretion of the Editor but are normally made on the advice of referees, chosen by the Editor as expert in the relevant area, General policies of the Journal are developed in consultation with the Editorial Committee and the Editorial Advisory Board, General enquiries and articles submitted for publication should be addressed to: The Editor, Ecclesiastical Law Journal, Parkside, Dulwich Common, London SE21 7EU (Tel. 0181 693 3564).

Books for review may be sent to: J. D. C. Harte Esq. Book Review Editor. Ecclesiastical Law Journal. Newcastle Law School, Newcastle University, 21-24 Windsor Terrace, Newcastle upon Tyne NEI 7RU (Tel. 0191-222-7614; Fax 0191-212-0064).

Matters relating to cases should be addressed to: Mark Hill Esq. Case Notes Editor, Ecclesiastical Law Journal, 3 Pump Court, Temple, London EC4Y 7AJ (Tel. 0171 353 0771).

ISSN 0956-618X

Items in this issue should be cited 3 Ecc. LJ

Inquiries with regard to membership of the Ecclesiastical Law Society or subscriptions to the Journal, including back issues, should be addressed to: Ecclesiastical Law Society, c/o I The Sanctuary, Westminster, London SWIP 3JT (Tel. 0171 222 5381). Inquiries from North America with regard to subscriptions to the Journal or back issues should be addressed to Gaunt Inc., Gaunt Building, 3011 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Florida 34217-2199, USA, who are sole distribution agents for the Journal to non-members in North America.

The views expressed in any article, review or other publication in this Journal do not necessarily accord with those of the Editorial Committee or the Society as a whole.

Typeset in Times Roman on Apple Mackintosh and printed by Oxumprint, Oxford University Press, Great Clarendon Street, Oxford.

All rights in this publication are reserved. It may not be reproduced or transmitted in whole or in part, for sale or otherwise, in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording or storage in any retrieval system, without written permission from the Ecclesiastical Law Society

© The Ecclesiastical Law Society (Reprint) 1997

ECCLESIASTICAL LAW SOCIETY

Patrons

The Most Revd. and Rt. Hon. the Lord Archbishop of Canterbury The Most Revd. and Rt. Hon. the Lord Archbishop of York

President

The Rt. Revd. the Lord Bishop of Chichester (to 1997)

Elective Officers (to 1994)

CHAIRMAN: The Worshipful Chancellor Quentin Edwards, Q.C.† VICE-CHAIRMAN: The Revd. Canon Christopher Hill†

SECRETARY: Peter Beesley, Esq.†

DEPUTY SECRETARY: Nicholas J. Richens, Esq.†
TREASURER: David Faull, Esq. O.B.E.†

Executive Officer

The Ven. T. Hughie Jones†

General Committee

The Officers together with:

ELECTED: The Revd. Canon Peter Boulton (to 1994)

Brian Hanson, Esq. (to 1994) David Harte, Esq. (to 1994) The Revd. and Worshipful

Chancellor Rupert Bursell, Q.C.† (to 1995)

David Cheetham, Esq. (to 1995)

The Ven., the Archdeacon of Chesterfield (to 1995)

The Worshipful Chancellor Michael Goodman*† (to 1995)

Jonathan Cryer, Esq. (to 1995) Raymond Hemingray, Esq. (to 1996)

John Holden, Esq. (to 1996)

The Revd. John Masding (to 1996)

Charles Mynors, Esq. (to 1996)

Mark Hill, Esq.

CO-OPTED: The Ven. David Scott (to 1994)†

Dr. Norman Doe (to 1995)

[†] Member of Executive Committee

^{*} Chairman of the Editorial Committee