August 26, 1985, or thereafter at the Association's annual meeting office in the hotel headquarters. All such nominations and certifications must be received at least 24 hours before the session of the Annual Business Meeting in order to include those names on the original nominating document. Specific procedures for offering nominations are indicated in the Annual Business Meeting rules.

Members of the 1985 Nominating Committee are: Fred Greenstein, Princeton University, chair; James A. Caporaso, University of Denver; John Kessel, Ohio State University; Robert D. Putnam, Harvard University; Barbara Sinclair, University of California, Riverside; and Judith Stiehm, University of Southern California.

The current president-elect of APSA is Aaron Wildavsky, University of California, Berkeley. He will become president of the Association after the 1985 Annual Meeting in September.

Other continuing Council members, serv-

ing their second year of a two-year term are: Brian Barry, California Institute of Technology; F. Chris Garcia, University of New Mexico; William R. Keech, University of North Carolina; J. Donald Moon, Wesleyan University; Victor A. Olorunsola, Iowa State University; Norman J. Ornstein, American Enterprise Institute; Benjamin I. Page, University of Texas at Austin; and Bruce M. Russett, Yale University.

Award Offered for Best Graduate Student Paper In Judicial Politics

The Law, Courts and Judicial Process Section is offering an annual award for the best graduate student paper presented at a professional meeting covering law, courts, and the judicial process. The objective of the award is to promote graduate student involvement in the subfield and to encourage presentation of papers by graduate students at profes-



APSA

DEPARTMENTAL SERVICES COMMITTEE

announces a

Roundtable for Department Chairs

or

Recruitment and Retention of Minority Graduate Students in Political Science

Friday, August 30 10:45 am-12:00 pm

Association News

sional meetings. The award will include a \$100 honorarium and a copy of *Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court* (Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly, 1979) which is being donated by CQ Press. Announcement of the award will be made at the Annual Section Meeting.

The competition is open to papers authored solely by a graduate student and presented at a professional meeting. Co-authored papers (with other graduate students or with professors) are not eligible for the award. The papers may be presented at any professional meeting including but not limited to national or regional political science meetings or affiliated professional association meetings (e.g., Law and Society Association meetings). Competition for the 1985 award will include papers presented during the 1984-85 academic year, including the 1984 APSA meeting.

A committee of three persons, Robert Carp, University of Houston (chair); David Neubauer, University of New Orleans; and David O'Brien, University of Virginia, will review the papers submitted during the year and recommend one for the award.

Papers may be nominated or may be submitted by the author. To be considered, each member of the committee should receive a copy of the paper. The addresses of the committee members are: Robert Carp, Department of Political Science, University of Houston, Houston, TX 77004; David Neubauer, Department of Political Science, University of New Orleans, New Orleans, LA 70148; and David O'Brien, Department of Government, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA 22901.

APSA Selects Black American and Chicano/Latino Fellows

Ten students of political science have been named APSA Fellows for 1985-86.



The Council of the American Political Science Association

cordially invites all students attending the 1985 annual meeting to a

Reception for Political Science Graduate Students

on Friday, August 30 6:30 pm-8:00 pm