ARCHITECTURAL HISTORY

Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians of Great Britain



SOCIETY OF ARCHITECTURAL HISTORIANS OF GREAT BRITAIN

The Alice Davis Hitchcock Medallion is presented annually to authors of outstanding contributions to the literature of architectural history. Recipients of the award have been:

1959: H. M. COLVIN

- 1960: SIR JOHN SUMMERSON
- 1961: DR KERRY DOWNES
- 1962: JOHN FLEMING
- 1963: MISS DOROTHY STROUD
- 1964: DR F. H. W. SHEPPARD
- 1965: DR H. M. & MRS JOAN TAYLOR
- 1966: SIR NIKOLAUS PEVSNER
- 1967: DR MARK GIROUARD
- 1968: CHRISTOPHER HUSSEY
- 1969: PROFESSOR PETER COLLINS
- 1970: DR A. H. GOMME & D. M. WALKER
- 1971: JOHN HARRIS
- 1972: HERMIONE HOBHOUSE
- 1973: DR MARK GIROUARD
- 1974: DR J. MORDAUNT CROOK & M. H. PORT
- 1975: DR DAVID WATKIN
- 1976: ANTHONY BLUNT
- 1977: ANDREW SAINT
- 1978: PETER SMITH
- 1979: TED RUDDOCK

ARCHITECTURAL HISTORY

Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians of Great Britain

Volume 23: 1980

SOCIETY OF ARCHITECTURAL HISTORIANS OF GREAT BRITAIN

Founded 1956: incorporated 1964

The Society exists to encourage an interest in the history of architecture, to provide opportunities for the exchange and discussion of ideas related to this subject and to publish, in its journal, Architectural History, significant source material and the results of original research

OFFICERS AND EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 1979-80

President: Howard Colvin CBE FBA HON FRIBA

Past President: Sir John Summerson CBE FBA FSA ARIBA

Chairman: James H. P. M. Macaulay MA PHD

Honorary Secretary: Anne C. Riches MA

Honorary Treasurer: Peter Leach MA DPHIL

Executive Committee Winston Barnett M PHIL DIP ARCH FRIBA Jeremy M. Blake BA Bridget Cherry BA

Thomas H. Cocke ма Catherine H. Cruft Malcolm S. Higgs аадірі рнд аківа

Bankers: Barclays Bank Ltd, All Saints, 137 Oxford Road, Manchester MI 7EA

EDITORIAL COMMITTEE Anthony Blunt Howard Colvin cbe fba hon friba J. Mordaunt Crook ma dphil fsa John Harris fsa hon friba Sir John Summerson cbe fba fsa ariba Peter Willis phd ariba

HONORARY EDITOR John Newman MA FSA

Applications for membership and all correspondence concerning the Society should be addressed to: Miss Anne C. Riches MA 25 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RM

Correspondence concerning the Society's publications should be addressed to: Mr John Newman, Courtauld Institute of Art, 20 Portman Square, London WIH OBE

Copyright © 1980

Printed by W. S. Maney and Son Ltd, Hudson Road, Leeds LS9 7DL Set in Monotype Garamond

CONTENTS

NO OTHER PALACE IN THE KINGDOM WILL COMPARE WITH IT: THE EVOLUTION OF AUDLEY END, $1605-1745$		
by P. J. Drury	I	
THE GENESIS AND EVOLUTION OF FONTHILL ABBEY by John Wilton-Ely	40	
A SKETCH-BOOK BY THOMAS HOPE by David Watkin and Jill Lever		
	<u>5</u> 2	
SIR GEORGE GILBERT SCOTT R.A., SURVEYOR TO WESTMINSTER ABBEY 1849–1878 by William J. Jordan	(-	
	60	
THE UN-ENGLISHNESS OF G. E. STREET'S CHURCH OF ST JAMES-THE-LESS by Neil Jackson	86	
	00	
LETTERS FROM J. F. BENTLEY TO CHARLES HADFIELD PART I edited by Peter Howell	95	
Shorter Notices		
A SOURCE FOR THE LIVES OF INIGO JONES AND JOHN WEBB by Allan Pritchard	138	
THE BATTLE OF THE STYLES IN ARCHITECTURAL 'GRAFFITI'		
by Gavin Stamp	141	
List of illustrations	143	

The Society acknowledges with gratitude the continuing financial support of the British Academy. Publication of Mr Drury's article has been made possible by substantial grant-aid from the Department of the Environment.