## 464 STUDIORUM NOVI TESTAMENTI SOCIETAS

appearing in 1973 and 3 more in 1974. Thereafter, however, the Cambridge University Press had indicated, only one volume a year could be published. To meet the demand for a cheaper method of production of theses he recommended that the method be tried whereby authors would type their own work to specifications provided by the Cambridge University Press. It was agreed that this method should be tried for an experimental period, and that the offer of the C.U.P. to continue publishing one volume a year to traditional standards be accepted.

There was considerable discussion about the form of future General Meetings, and about the role of the Society in relation to other bodies of a regional nature whose purposes were similar. A number of suggestions were made, and the Committee undertook to consider these and to report to the next General Meeting. Members who had suggestions to make were invited to send them to the Secretary.

Professor W. D. Davies and Professor F. Hahn were elected to the Committee in place of l'Abbé J. Carmignac and Professor H. Greeven, retiring. Professors P. Benoit, G. W. Macrae and W. Schrage were elected to the Editorial Board for four years in place of Professors H. Conzelmann, H. Greeven and J. M. Robinson, retiring.

The Society was entertained to a civic reception by the Mayor of Southampton on 29 August, and by the University of Southampton on 30 August. Members took part in excursions to Stonehenge on 30 August and to Winchester and the Roman Palace at Fishbourne on 1 September.

The Society's Twenty-ninth General Meeting will be held at Sigtuna, Sweden (close to Stockholm) from 12 to 16 August 1974. The Thirtieth Meeting has been planned for Aberdeen, Scotland, from 26 to 30 August 1975, and the Thirty-first for Duke University, North Carolina, at the end of August 1976. R. S. BARBOUR

## OBITUARY

We regret to record the deaths of Professor Dr O. Bauernfeind, Professor C. H. Dodd, Professor Dr W. Grundmann, Professor F. Hambly, Professor P.-H. Menoud, Professor Dr W. Nauck, Dr G. Ogg, Professor Dr J. B. Souček and Professor W. Thomas.

## **OFFICERS AND COMMITTEE MEMBERS 1973-4**

President: The Rev. Professor C. K. Barrett, Department of Theology, The University, Durham, England.

Secretary: The Rev. Professor R. S. Barbour, King's College, Old Aberdeen, Scotland.

- Treasurer: The Rev. Canon R. J. Hammer, The Queen's College, Somerset Road, Edgbaston, Birmingham, England.
- Assistant Secretary: The Rev. Dr Barnabas Lindars, S.S.F., The Divinity School, St John's Street, Cambridge, England.

## Committee Members

Professor M. Black, Professor W. D. Davies, Professor F. Hahn, Professor L. Hartman, Professor E. Käsemann, Professor R. Leivestad, Professor N. Perrin, Professor B. Rigaux, Professor R. McL. Wilson.