NEWS

The Conference Group for Central European History met in conjunction with the American Historical Association on December 28, 1971, in New York. The morning academic session, chaired by Gordon A. Craig (Stanford), dealt with "Unrest and Repression in the German Vormärz." Papers were presented by Konrad H. Jarausch (University of Missouri) on "Jails or Jobs: The Social and Economic Roots of Student Dissent, 1820–1848," and by Enno E. Kraehe (University of Virginia) on "The Karlsbad Decrees." Mack Walker (Cornell) and Samson B. Knoll (Monterey Institute of Foreign Studies) commented. At the evening business meeting, presided over by Chairman Craig, Hans Rosenberg (Berkeley) was elected vice-chairman, and Harold J. Gordon (University of Massachusetts, Amherst) member-at-large of the Executive Board. Andreas Dorpalen (Ohio State) is chairman for 1972.

At its business meeting the Conference Group also agreed unanimously to form a committee to pursue, in cooperation with the AHA and appropriate governmental and archival authorities, the matter of improving access for American scholars to archival materials in East Germany. To this end, a committee composed of Thomas T. Helde (Georgetown University), chairman; George W. F. Hallgarten (University of North Carolina, Charlotte), George O. Kent (University of Maryland), and Gordon R. Mork (Purdue University) has been formed. It would be of great aid to the committee in its activities if scholars who seek possible access to archives in East Germany would indicate, in a letter to the chairman of the committee or any of its members, the specific archival material in which they would be interested.

The Conference Group for Central European History awards every two years a prize of \$250 to the North American scholar who, in the opinion of a prize awards committee, has written the best article dealing with a topic of Central European history. The article must have been published in any scholarly journal in the United States, Canada, or

News 95

abroad during the two-year period preceding the awarding of the prize. In making the award preference will be given to younger scholars.

The prize will be awarded this year at the business meeting of the Conference Group in New Orleans. The Executive Board of the Conference Group has elected an Awards Committee consisting of Professors Mack Walker, chairman, Robert A. Kann, and Hans W. Gatzke. The Committee will consider articles published since October 15, 1970. Articles may be submitted by their authors, the editors of journals in which they have been published, or anyone else who wishes to recommend them for the prize.

One copy of each article should be sent directly before October 15 to each member of the Awards Committee:

Professor Mack Walker Department of History Cornell University Ithaca, New York 14850

Professor Robert A. Kann 143 Loomis Court Princeton, New Jersey 08540

Professor Hans W. Gatzke Department of History Yale University New Haven, Connecticut 06520

The Austrian Ministry of Education will grant a limited number of scholarships for the academic year 1973-74 to American graduate students now working on doctoral dissertations or other research projects in the field of Austrian history. The grants cover only the cost of tuition and maintenance for one person and may not be used to supplement a stipend received from another scholarship or fellowship. Holders of these scholarships are expected to be in residence at an Austrian university and should have a good command of the German language. Candidates wishing to apply should send a letter of application together with transcripts, letters of recommendation, and an outline of their research project directly to William A. Jenks, Department of History, Washington and Lee University, Lexington, Virginia 24450. The deadline for applications is November 15, 1972.