CAEP 2004 Montréal: Resident Section Awards

Cameron MacGougan, MD;* Paul Tourigny, MD[†]

During the 5th Canadian EM Residents Workshop at CAEP 2004 in Montréal, three individuals, from many worthy nominees, were honoured for their outstanding contributions to Canadian emergency medicine.

Dr. Eddy Lang

Dr. Lang was presented with the **CAEP EM Teacher of the Year Award**. This award recognizes the contribution of practising EPs to teaching and resident education.

As always, the competition for the CAEP EM Teacher of the Year Award was fierce. Nominated physicians have an active role in teaching residents, and the nominees all made an outstanding contribution to teaching or to the development of emergency medicine education in Canada within the last year. Out of a host of exceptionally qualified teachers, Dr. Eddy Lang, a consultant with McGill University, was the recipient of this year's award.

Dr. Lang has been a veritable dynamo of teaching over the last year. He was responsible for the implementation of a new teaching shift at the Jewish General Hospital, and residents now have the opportunity be observed by a staff MD who can provide immediate feedback. Dr. Lang is also responsible for the recent upgrade to McGill University's EM Web site; this links page is among the most practical of any EM Web page in the world.

On an individual level, Dr. Lang is unanimously recognized as being accessible and visible. He assists every resident with all facets of Journal Club, from article selection through to dissection of statistical methods and article analysis. His contribution has transformed the McGill University EM Journal Club over the past year. He has also contributed to the development of McGill's Evidence-Based Medicine course, helping raise the bar for EM physicians everywhere.

Dr. Lang's accomplishments are best summed up by one of his own statements: "Teaching, in my mind, is the bonus that comes with selecting an academic track in a medical career.... It is its own reward."

Dr. Shona MacLachlan

Dr. Shona MacLachlan was presented with the **CAEP FRCP-EM Resident Leadership Award**. This award recognizes residents' contributions to EM and EM residencies and serves to promote the development of future leaders in Canadian EM.

As a clinician, EM advocate and friend, Dr. MacLachlan is a role model for all residents who have had the pleasure of working with her. She is a former critical care nurse whose passion for EM led her to pursue a Fellowship in Pediatric Critical Care and in pre-hospital "cancelled calls" research. She is well respected for her clinical acumen. Within her residency program at the University of Alberta and as former member of the CAEP Residents' Section Executive, Dr. MacLachlan is known for her generosity with her time and energy.

Dr. Chantal St-Onge

Dr. Chantal St-Onge was presented with the 1st CAEP CCFP-EM Resident Leadership Award. This newly created award specifically recognizes CCFP-EM contributions to Canadian EM.

Of Dr. St-Onge's many accomplishments, she is best known for her conscientious attitude, teaching skills, EM research, and her commitment to the University of Sherbrooke EM Residency Program. "Calm," "pleasant" and "motivated" are all words her colleagues use to describe her. Her infectious excitement for EM is quickly passed on to the learners around her. Dr. St-Onge's interest in EM Quality Assurance has led to projects involving "prescription of β -blockers post AMI" and the "efficient use of troponin in the ED." As Chief Resident in her program and as a local CAEP representative Dr. St-Onge is noted for her efforts and astute advice, which have truly made her a leader in EM.

Congratulations again to all award recipients and nominees!!

Correspondence to: Dr. Cameron MacGougan; ckm@ualberta.ca

*4th-Year Emergency Medicine resident, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Alta. †4th-Year Emergency Medicine resident, Queen's University, Kingston, Ont.