## American Society for Legal History

The American Society for Legal History is a nonprofit membership organization dedicated to fostering scholarship, teaching, and study concerning the law and institutions of all legal systems, both Anglo-American and international. Founded in 1956, the Society sponsors Law and History Review and Studies in Legal History, a series of book-length monographs available to ASLH members at substantial discounts. In addition, the Society holds an annual meeting to promote scholarship and interaction among scholars, practitioners, and students interested in legal history, and maintains a website (http://www.aslh.net) reporting developments in the field. For further information concerning the Society, please write: Sally Hadden, Department of History, Western Michigan University, 4301 Friedmann Hall, Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5334, USA.

To become a member of the Society or to renew your membership please complete, print out, and mail the following form to: Cambridge University Press, Attention: Customer Services, One Liberty Plaza, Floor 20, New York, NY 10006, USA; or print it out and fax it to: 845-353-4141.

		Mei	mbership	Application			
Please che	ck appropriate membersh	ip bel	ow:				
Regular M	ember, with an annual in	come					
	below \$50,000	\$	66.00		Student Member	\$	25.00
	\$50,000 - \$75,000	\$	77.00		Emeritus	\$	100.00
	\$75,000 - \$100,000		88.00		Life Member	\$ 2	2,000.00
	\$100,000 - \$125,000	\$	99.00		1	\$	250.00
	\$125,000 - \$150,000		110.00		Institution	\$	175.00
	\$150,000 and above	\$	200.00				
	ety no longer accepts instactiber to Law and Histor			ships, but check	ing this line will ma	ake	your institu-
	ip fees must be paid in U Express charge. Question		-		•		
Total Amt:	\$ Vi	isa/M0	C/Amex:				
Name on c	ard:		Exp. l	Date:			
Signature:							
Name:							
Institution	:						
Address: _							
City:		State:			Zip:		
Country (i	f not the US):						
	hone (Home):						
Fax:		E-n	nail:				

## **American Society for Legal History**

Sarah Barringer Gordon University of Pennsylvania President

Bivamin Blum

Yale University

Catherine Fisk University of California,

Joanna Grisinger

Berkeley

Angela Fernandez

University of Toronto

Rohit De

University of California,

Hastings College of Law

Officers, 2019

Lauren Benton Vanderbilt University President-Elect

Rebecca J. Scott University of Michigan

University of Mississippi Secretary

Past President

**Board of Directors** 

Alexandra Havrylyshyn (graduate student representative), University of California,

Berkeley

Cynthia Herrup University of Southern California

Katrina Jagodinsky University of Nebraska

Catharine MacMillan King's College London

Kunal Parker University of Miami Harvard University Christopher Schmidt Chicago-Kent College of Law/American Bar Foundation Rebecca J. Scott

University of Nevada, Las Vegas

(Immediate Past President) University of Michigan Daniel J. Sharfstein

Vanderbilt University Laura Weinrib

David Tanenhaus

Treasurer

Anne Twitty

Intisar Rabb

University of Chicago

Laurie Wood

Florida State University

Dan Ernst, Chair

Northwestern University

Georgetown University Gregory Ablavsky Stanford University

Binyamin Blum University of California, Hastings College of Law

Holly Brewer (ex officio, Co-editor, Studies in Legal History), University of Maryland

Sarah Barringer Gordon (ex officio, Co-editor, Studies in Legal History). University of Pennsylvania

**Publications Committee** 

Thomas A. Green University of Michigan

Craig Joyce (ex officio, Co-chair, History of the Society), University of Houston

Michael Lobban (ex officio, Co-editor, Studies in Legal History), London School of Economics, University

of London

Cynthia Nicoletti University of Virginia

R. H. Helmholz

Gautham Rao (ex officio, Editor, Law and History Review), American University

Reuel Schiller (ex officio, Co-editor, Studies in Legal History), University of California, Hastings College of Law

David Tanenhaus (ex officio, Treasurer), University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Kim Welch Vanderbilt University

## Honorary Fellows of the American Society for Legal History

Morris S. Arnold J.H. Baker Mary Frances Berry Raoul C. Van Caenegem Ennio Cortese Natalie Zemon Davis Charles Donahue Mary L. Dudziak Lawrence M. Friedman Philip Girard Paolo Grossi Hendrik Hartog

Douglas Hay

António Manuel Hespanha Morton J. Horwitz Harold M. Hyman Laura Kalman Stanley N. Katz Linda K. Kerber Bruce Kercher Diane Kirkby Martti Koskeniemmi Peter Landau Anne Lefebvre-Teillard Hector L. MacQueen

John McLaren Kjell Modéer William E. Nelson John T. Noonan, Jr. John Phillip Reid Susan Reynolds Bernd Rüthers Harry N. Scheiber Reva Siegel Michael Stolleis Christopher Tomlins W. A. J. Watson David V. Williams

## Cambridge Core

For further information about this journal please go to the journal web site at:



