Ecclesiastical Law Journal

Volume 5

CONTENTS

Editorial	
'Mighty Acts of Judgment'	
Ecclesiastical Law and the Law of God in Scripture. Anthony Bash	
The Anglican Communion—Does it Exist?	
Digging Up Exhamation	
An Interpretation of Argae v Holdsworth	
The Role of the Roral Dean	
Education and Canon Law	
Book Reviews: The Warburton Lectures	
Religious Liberty and International Law by M. D. Evans	
Access to the Historic Environment by L. Foster.	
Encyclopaedia of Architectural Terms by J. S. Curl	1 13
Catalogue of English Legal Manuscripts by J. H. Baker and J. S. Ringrose	
Clandestine Marriage in England by R. B. Outhwaite	
Recent Legislation	
Synod News:	
The Governing Body of the Church in Wales	
The General Synod of the Episcopal Church in Scotland Ivor Guild	
The General Synod of the Church of England	
Recent Ecclesiastical Cases	
Letter to the Editor.	
Cardiff Law School: I.L.M. Degrees and Dissertations	

The Ecclesiastical Law Journal is published by the Ecclesiastical Law Society. Decisions on the publication of individual articles are at the discretion of the Editor but are normally made on the advice of referees, chosen by the Editor as expert in the relevant area. General policies of the Journal are developed in consultation with the Editorial Committee and the Editorial Advisory Board. Authors are reminded that they must follow the format set out in 'Notes to Authors'. They must also submit two double-spaced typed copies and, if possible, a computer disc (Microsoft Word or compatible). General enquiries, and articles submitted for publication, should be addressed to: The Editor, Ecclesiastical Law Journal, Parkside, Dulwich Common. London SE21 7EU (Tel. 0181 693 3564).

Books for review may be sent to: J. D. C. Harte Esq. Book Review Editor, Ecclesiastical Law Journal, Newcastle Law School, Newcastle University, 21–24 Windsor Terrace, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 7RU (Tel. 0191 222 7614; Fax 0191 212 0064).

Matters relating to cases should be addressed to: Mark Hill Esq. Case Notes Editor, Ecclesiastical Law Journal, 3 Pump Court, Temple, London EC4Y 7AJ (Tel. 0171 353 0711; Fax 0171 353 3319; E-mail mark hill8@virgin.net).

ISSN 0956-618X

Items in this issue should be cited 5 Ecc LJ

Inquiries with regard to membership of the Ecclesiastical Law Society or subscriptions to the Journal, including back issues, should be addressed to: Ecclesiastical Law Society, c/o 1 The Sanctuary, Westminster, London SW1P 3JT (Tel. 0171-222-5381). Inquiries from North America with regard to subscriptions to the Journal or back issues should be addressed to Gaunt Inc., Gaunt Building, 3011 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Florida 34127-2199, USA, who are sole distribution agents for the Journal to non-members in North America.

The views expressed in any article, review or other publication in this Journal do not necessarily accord with those of the Editorial Committee or the Society as a whole.

Typeset in Times Roman on Apple Macintosh and printed by Oxuniprint, Oxford University Press, Great Clarendon Street, Oxford OX2 6DP.

All rights in this publication are reserved. It may not be reproduced or transmitted in whole or in part, for sale or otherwise, in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording or storage in any retrieval system, without written permission from the Ecclesiastical Law Society.

© The Ecclesiastical Law Society 1998

ECCLESIASTICAL LAW SOCIETY

Patrons

The Most Revd and Rt Hon the Lord Archbishop of Canterbury
The Most Revd and Rt Hon the Lord Archbishop of York

Vice-Patrons

The Most Revd the Lord Archbishop of Wales
The Most Revd the Lord Archbishop of Armagh
The Most Revd the Primus of Scotland

President

The Rt Revd the Lord Bishop of Chichester

Elective Officers (to 1998)

CHAIRMAN: Dr Frank Robson OBE†
VICE-CHAIRMAN: The Rt Revd the Lord Bishop of Stafford†
SECRETARY: Peter Beesley Esq.†
DEPUTY SECRETARY: Nicholas J. Richens Esq.†
TREASURER: The Revd John Rees†

Executive Officer The Revd Dr Stephen Pix†

General Committee

The Officers together with:

ELECTED: The Revd Canon Peter Boulton (to 2000)

Brian Hanson Esq. CBE (to 2000)

David Harte Esq. (to 2000) The Revd and Worshipful

Chancellor Rupert Bursell QC† (to 1998)

David Cheetham Esq. (to 1998)

The Worshipful Chancellor Michael Goodman*† (to 1998)

Jonathan Cryer Esq. (to 1998)

Mark Hill Esq. (to 1998)

Raymond Hemingray Esq. (to 1999)

John Holden Esq. (to 1999)

The Revd John Masding (to 1999)

Charles Mynors Esq. (to 1999)

CO-OPTED: Dr Norman Doe (to 1998)

The Worshipful Chancellor Thomas Coningsby QC (to 1999) The Worshipful Chancellor Quentin Edwards QC (to 1999)

† Member of Executive Committee

* Chairman of the Editorial Committee