Canadian Parliamentary Intern and U.S. Congressional Fellow Exchange

Building upon a successful exchange visit in 1973, a group of legislative interns working in the Canadian Parliament visited Washington, D.C. during the week of March 24-29. The fall of the Canadian Parliament and scheduling of a national election postponed the anticipated return visit by U.S. interns.

The Parliamentary Intern Program, under the sponsorship of the Canadian Political Science Association; and the Congressional Fellowship Program, of the American Political Science Association, are both designed to provide young scholars, journalists and (in the case of the U.S. Program) federal civil servants a practical educational setting for improving their understanding of the legislative process. Interns and Fellows serve as legislative aides in the Parliament and Congress, in addition to participating in numerous seminars during the course of a year.

With the support of a grant from the U.S. Department of State, the Canadian interns journeyed to Washington, D.C. for a series of meetings with officials from the Canadian Embassy, State Department, White House and news media, as well as numerous Senators, Congressmen and legislative staff. This program, hosted by the Congressional Fellows, featured over 35 speakers during the five-day visit. A full agenda of meetings scheduled for a delegation of Congressional Fellows in Ottawa had to be cancelled when the election was announced. The Canadian Department of External Affairs anticipates funding this return visit in August, if Parliament convenes by that time.

The Canadian and American associations hope to maintain a continuing exchange between the two programs in future years.

The members of the Canadian delegation were:

Eric Acker David Carter Richard Chambers Alan Freeman Timothy Garrard James Ross Hurley, Academic Director Carole-Christine Gatien Marc Gaudette Dennis Huard Paul Letourneau Penelope Viehbeck

APSA Investments and Securities

As of May 31, 1974, the Association's investments and securities were as follows:

| Stocks | Shares |
|-------------------------------|--------|
| Alexander and Alexander | 800 |
| American Airlines | 15 |
| American Greeting Corporation | 1400 |
| Avon | 235 |

Stocks

| Capital Holding Corporation | 1500 |
|-------------------------------|------|
| Colonial Penn Group | 800 |
| Dart Industries | 721 |
| Eastman Kodak | 300 |
| Envirotech Corporation | 900 |
| First National City Bank Corp | 550 |
| General Automotive Inc | 500 |
| General Mills | 800 |
| Halliburton | 230 |
| IBM Corporation | 188 |
| Jack Eckerd Corporation | 1100 |
| J.C. Penny Company | 400 |
| Kerr McGee Corporation | 700 |
| Kresge | 1121 |
| Marriott Corporation | 855 |
| McDonald's | 500 |
| 3 M Corporation | 400 |
| Schering Corporation | 1200 |
| G D Searle & Co | 1600 |
| V F Corporation | 1200 |
| White Consolidated Industries | 1365 |
| Xerox Corporation | 300 |

Shares

| Bonds | Matures | Number |
|---|---------|-----------|
| Alabama Power | 9/1/95 | 10M |
| American Air Filter | 3/1/90 | 15M |
| ΑΤ&Τ | 4/1/01 | 30M |
| АТ&Т | 4/1/85 | 46M |
| Columbia Gas Systems | 10/1/90 | 10M |
| Ohio Bell | 2/1/06 | 25M |
| Public Service Electric | | |
| & Gas | 9/1/95 | 10M |
| Tenneco | 9/1/85 | 10M |
| Savings & Loan Associations * | | Amount |
| Carver Federal, New York City Independent Federal. | | \$ 10,000 |
| Washington, D.C. | | \$ 10,000 |
| Certificate of Deposit | | |

Franklin National Bank, New York City \$15,000

* Consistent with the guidelines adopted by the Finance Committee and approved by the Council, the Association has invested funds in institutions making a special effort to promote the establishment of a more democratic and humane social order.

APSA Committees

The following is a list of Association Committees with members who have been appointed by Presidents of the Association with the consent of the Council. Members of the Association are invited to correspond with the Chairperson of any Committee concerning subjects with which his or her Committee is dealing.

1. Award Committees

Woodrow Wilson Foundation Book Award John C. Wahlke, Iowa, Chairman G. Bingham Powell, Rochester Ellis Sandoz, East Texas State