1974 Annual Meeting Announcements

Program Announcement

Following are schedule changes of meeting times and places for sessions at the forthcoming Annual Meeting for Thursday, August 29.

- Panel 1-1 Roundtable on American Science Policy in Transition (Saturday, 2:00 p.m.-4:00 p.m.)
- Panel 3-1 Conservatism's Search for Meaning Thursday, 2:00 p.m.-4:00 p.m., *Conrad* Hilton Hotel)
- Panel 5-2 Ethnicity and International Relations Theory (Thursday, 7:00 p.m.-9:00 p.m.)
- Panel 9-2 Intergovernmental Policy Development and Implementation: II Environmental and Energy Policies (Thursday, 7:00 p.m.-9:00 p.m.)
- Panel 11-1 The Impact of Media Communications in Political Campaigns (Thursday, 7:00 p.m.-9:00 p.m.)
- Panel 18-2 Roundtable on Teaching Undergraduate About ... Public Policy, Research Methods and Urban Politics (Thursday, 7:00 p.m.-9:00 p.m.)
- Women's Caucus for Political Science: panel 1 (Thursday, 4:15 p.m.-6:15 p.m.)
- Women's Caucus for Political Science: Business Meeting I (Thursday, 6:30 p.m.-8:30 p.m.)
- The APSA Women's Committee Session, Friday, August 30 at 11:45 a.m. will be on the Carnegie Commission Report on Faculty Problems and their solutions with Special attention to alternative action.

1974 Annual Business Meeting

Proposed Constitutional Amendment

Option to Receive the American Political Science Review

Submitted by Gerald L. Houseman, et. al.

Change Article III, Section 7 to read as follows:

"7. Each member, other than a Family Member, shall be entitled to a copy of each number of The American Political Science Review during his membership unless he wishes to exercise the option of not receiving the Review; in that case, annual membership dues shall be reduced by five dollars. All members, upon payment of such registration fee as the Council may approve, shall be entitled to attend and to participate in the Annual Business Meeting of the Association."

Gerald L. Houseman Judson L. James William Jensen H. Jon Rosenbaum Edward Schneider Robert McGeehan Dorothy Buckton James John Rensenbrink Victor Wallis Anne H. Cahn Kenneth M. Dolbeare Henry Kariel Richard Christofferson Gail S. MacColl Edward J. Miller Patrick J. McGeever Stephen Sachs John Dreijmanis Charles A. McCoy Leonard Ruchelman Frank T. Colon Isador Kranzel James S. Fay Gene S. Poschman Mary Skinner Joanne Loomba Sherman Lewis

Theodore A. Coulombis Bernice A, Carroll Betty Glad **Tommie Sue Mont**qomery Roger B. Canfield Dorothy Guyot Christopher Pyle Eli B. Silverman Carl W. Nelson Morris M. Wilhelm T. Philip Wolf Linda Carstarphen Harvey F. Fireside Stefan H. Leader Julius Smulkstys C. James Owen Evangelos Coufoudakis Raymond H. Kaaret John Morser Jarol B. Manheim Harriet Pollack Jae T. Kim Martin L. Brownstein and others

The Council recommends by a 19 to 3 vote with two abstentions that the amendment to the APSA Constitution not be adopted. (Note: In the communications section of this issue of PS, a letter on the topic of the proposed amendment is published.)

1974 Rules for the Annual Business Meeting and Association Elections

On April 9, 1974, the Association's Council approved the following rules proposed by the Rules Committee to govern the conduct of the Association's 1974 Annual Business Meeting and election.

1. Annual Business Meeting: Attendance and Participation

The right "to attend and to participate in the Annual Business Meeting of the Association" is constitutionally accorded "all members, upon payment of such registration fee as the Council may approve." (Art. III, sec. 7)

1.1 Attendance at the Annual Business Meeting shall be restricted to members of the Association who have paid the approved registration fee and to registered representatives of the media. Participation in the Annual Business Meeting shall be restricted to members of the Association who have paid the approved registration fee.

1.2 Members upon registration shall be issued nontransferable badges readily distinguishable