Acknowledgments and report for the year 2012

Jonathan Baron, Editor

Here is the annual report. I welcome suggestions and questions, including those concerning issues not mentioned here.

News

Rachel Croson did return briefly as associate editor but then resigned because she has taken a position as a dean.

Maya Bar-Hillel, Mike DeKay and Joe Johnson have agreed to serve as new associate editors.

Tom Gilovich, Kris Kirby, and Don Moore have joined the board as consulting editors, and Cass Sunstein has returned to that role after serving as head of the U.S. Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs for almost 4 years.

Data about the journal

Our last "impact factor" from Thompson was 2.620 (2.623 for five years), greatly up from the year before, but this was also true of other journals in our field.

The rate of submissions continues to increase. For the years 2007 through 2012, the approximate numbers of submissions per year were, respectively, 59, 77, 114, 143, 181, and 216. The number of published articles is staying roughly constant: approximately 46, 49, 57, 45, 40, and 58 for the six years respectively. This does not count special issues. The median time for rejection is still one day, but, sadly, my impression is that we are rejecting more articles after review, or else it takes me longer to reject them myself. This is the result of difficulty keeping up with the increased rate of submissions.

Thanks

This journal is a complete volunteer effort. Reviewers and board members have been extremely cooperative and prompt in processing articles. I would like to thank everyone and hope that the quality and speed continue. The following reviewed articles (roughly) in 2012:

Abigail Sussman, Adam Dominiak, Adam Goodie, Adam Moore, Alan Sanfey, Alan Schwartz, Amada Safford, Amos Schurr, Ana Franco-Watkins, Andreas Glöckner, Ann-Renee Blais, Barbara Mellers, Barbara Tversky, Barry Schwartz, Baruch Fischhoff, Ben Newell, Benjamin Scheibehenne, Bernd Figner, Bethany Weber, Bodo Vogt, Brigitte Madrian, Burcu Gürçay, Cass Sunstein, Chenbo Zhong, Chris

Bauman, Christine Platzer, Christoph Ungemach, Christoph Vanberg, Christopher Olivola, Cilia Witteman, Clintin Davis-Stober, Craig Fox, Dalia Diab, Dan Goldstein, Dan Schley, Daniel Bartels, David Gal, David Mandel, David Shanks, Deborah Small, Derek Koehler, Don Moore, Drazen Prelec, Ed Vul, Eduard Brandstaetter, Eduardo Andrade, Eldad Yechiam, Eli Tsukayama, Elizabeth Tricomi, Elke Weber, Ellen Peters, Enrico Rubaltelli, Eric Johnson, Ernesto Reuben, Erte Xiao, Eyal Pe'er, Fanfang Tan, Femke ten Velden, Fiery Cushman, Gaelle Villejoubert, George Loewenstein, Gergana Nenkov, Gert Cornelissen, Gideon Keren, Gideon Keren, Gordon Bermant, Gregory Fischer, Gretchen Chapman, Hal Arkes, Hal Hershfield, Ido Erev, Irwin Levin, Itamar Simonson, Jaap Ham, Jacqueline Persons, James Hammitt, Jane Risen, Janice Jung, Jason Dana, Jennifer Trueblood, Jerome Busemeyer, John Monahan, John Monterosso, John Payne, Jon Pettibone, Jonah Berger, Jonathan Koehler, Jonathan McGuire, Joseph Simmons, Judith Avrahami, Karl Halvor Teigen, Kimihiko Yamagishi, Klaus Wertenbroch, Konstantinos Katsikopoulus, Kris Kirby, Laura Martignon, Lisa Libby, Lisa Ordóñez, Lisa Shu, Lorenz Goette, Luke Clark, Madan Pillutla, Magda Osman, Mandeep Dhami, Marc Buehner, Marcel Zeelenberg, Marco Piovesan, Marijke Van Putten, Mark Dixon, Matteo Ploner, Matthias Brand, Maya Bar-Hillel, Melissa Finucane, Michael Haselhuhn, Michael Kubovy, Min Gong, Monica Capra, Nicolao Bonini, Ola Svenson, Orit Tykocinski, Pablo Brañas-Garza, Paul Price, Paul Rozin, Paul Windschitl, Peter McGraw, Peter Ubel, Philip Tetlock, Radu Vranceanu, Rebecca Hess, Rick Larrick, Robin Hogarth, Rocio Garcia-Retamero, Ruud Custers, Sabine Pahl, Sabine Scholl, Shane Frederick, Shaul Shalvi, Shu Li, Simona Botti, Simone Moran, Stefan Herzog, Stephan Dickert, Tal Eyal, Talya Miron-Shatz, Tehila Kogut, Tehila Kogut, Tilmann Betsch, Tim Brady, Tim Pleskac, Todd McElroy, Tom Gilovich, Tom Wallsten, Ulrich Hoffrage, Uri Simonsohn, Valerie Reyna, Vittorio Girotto, Wandi Bruine de Bruin, William Matthews, Wolfgang Gaissmaier, Wooyoung Ahn, Yaniv Shani, Yaron Shlomi, Yvetta Simonyan.

Technical stuff

I remain indebted to the many writers of the open-source software that make the production process possible and sometimes even fun: LATEX, OpenOffice, Emacs, Firefox, Perl, Linux, R, other GNU software, and especially Writer2LaTeX (which extracts papers from the clutches of Microsoft), and Hevea (which makes the html versions with almost no extra effort on my part).

Recently more authors have been submitting articles in text format with LaTeX formatting, which makes it easier for me. I still have problems with authors following the technical guidelines for word processing documents, and I have begun to enforce these more rigorously, even if it means delaying an article by two months.

The future

I have been discussing the long-term future of the journal with the supervisory committee. Now, I do the production, and that is fine, but it can't last forever. We need a sustainable business model. I do not like the idea of general author charges; I prefer something more like that used by some other journals, in which authors are required to submit articles in a publishable format (now LATEX) and must pay someone to do this for them if they cannot do it themselves. I have found a group that claims to do this for a reasonable fee (see http://journal.sjdm.org/submit.htm.

Eventually, we will need to find a source of money to pay someone to do what I do now. (This should cost a lot less than most journals seem to require. I don't understand what they do with all the money.) Possibilities are: foundation or granting agency support (we save agencies money on publication charges), contributions from individuals, contributions from the two societies, or author charges. The last two possibilities seem to me to be last resorts. The first has not been thoroughly investigated, and volunteers are needed to do this. Conceivably some arrangement with a little money from each of several sources will work.