George Oakley Totten III, director, East Asian Studies Center, University of Southern California.

Jack L. Walker, director, Institute of Public Policy Studies, University of Michigan.

James L. Walker, assistant director, Office of Urban Studies, Wright State University.

H. G. Peter Wallach, chairman, Concentration in Modernization Processes, University of Wisconsin, Green Bay.

## **Promotions**

**Dwight Anderson,** San Diego State University: associate professor.

Myron J. Aronoff, Tel Aviv University: senior lecturer.

Herbert B. Asher, Ohio State University: associate professor.

Lawrence W. Beer, University of Colorado: professor.

Larry L. Berg, University of Southern California: associate professor.

Elliott A. Brown, Park College: associate professor.

Charles N. Brownstein, Lehigh University: associate professor.

Linda A. Carstarphen, Indiana University Southeast: associate professor.

James Conniff, San Diego State University: associate professor.

James W. Davis, Jr., Washington University, St. Louis: professor.

**Charles DeWitt Dunn**, University of Arkansas, Monticello: assistant professor.

**Dennis R. Eckart,** University of Colorado: associate professor.

**Richard Funston**, San Diego State University: associate professor.

Charles Gati, Union College: professor.

**Richard C. Giardina**, Bowling Green State University: associate professor.

Edward Glab, Jr., University of Texas, Austin: Social Science Research Associate IV.

Ernst W. Gohlert, Eastern Washington State College: associate professor.

Iliva Harik, Indiana University: professor.

John G. Heilman, Auburn University: assistant professor.

James Hurtgen, SUNY, Fredonia: assistant professor.

**David H. Johns,** San Diego State University: professor.

William E. Kelly, Auburn University: assistant professor.

**Donald P. Kommers,** University of Notre Dame: professor.

Chiang C. Lin, Grambling State University: associate professor.

William Greer McCall, McNeese State University: associate professor.

Horst Mewes, University of Colorado: associate professor.

Philip H. Melanson, Southeastern Massachusetts University: associate professor.

Manus I. Midlarsky, University of Colorado: professor.

Betty Nesvold, San Diego State University: professor.

Lloyd B. Omdahl, University of North Dakota: professor.

Elinor Ostrom, Indiana University: professor.

Diane Paul, University of Massachusetts, Amherst: assistant professor.

Theodore B. Pedeliski, University of North Dakota: associate professor.

Patrick F. Pendergast, Auburn University: assistant professor.

Daniel W. Pound, University of Alabama: associate professor.

James L. Ray, SUNY, Fredonia: assistant professor.

Bradley M. Richardson, Ohio State University: professor.

Paul Roazen, York University, Toronto: professor.

William A. Schultze, San Diego State University: professor.

**Charles A. Schwartz,** University of Alabama: assistant professor.

Howard Sherain, California State University, Long Beach: associate professor.

Arthur K. Smith, SUNY, Binghamton: associate professor.

Stephen A. Staub, University of Alabama: assistant professor.

Philip D. Stewart, Ohio State University: professor.

Judith Stiehm, University of Southern California: associate professor.

Tracy B. Strong, University of Pittsburgh: associate professor.

Ronald J. Stupak, Miami University, Ohio: professor.

Edward R. Tufte, Princeton University: professor.

Arpad Von Lazar, Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, Tufts University: professor.

Robert W. Widell, Auburn University: assistant professor.

C. Jarrell Yarbrough, University of Wisconsin, Green Bay: associate professor.

William Zimmerman, University of Michigan: professor.