New Mexico Section Holds First Meeting

Harold Anderson, University of New Mexico

The first meeting of the recently established New Mexico Section of the Materials Research Society took place on February 19, 1986, on the University of New Mexico campus. Members of MRS from throughout New Mexico, including representatives from the University of New Mexico, Sandia National Laboratories, Los Alamos National Laboratories and local industry, voiced enthusiasm about the future of the local chapter.

Harold Anderson from the University of New Mexico, organizer of the drive for a New Mexico chapter, was chosen to serve as the chapter's first president. George Samara of Sandia National Laboratories and Ricardo Swartz of Los Alamos National Laboratories were chosen as the chapter's vice president and secretary/treasurer, respectively, rounding out the make-up of the executive committee.

The first meeting featured William Streifer, director of New Mexico's Center for High Technology Materials (CHTM), as the invited speaker. Streifer spoke of CHTM's thrust in optoelectronic materials research and the growing program in lightwave technology at the University of New Mexico. MRS President Gordon Pike spoke briefly about the broader activities of MRS in beam-solid interactions, microelectronics, ceramics, and composite materials research,



MRS President Gordon Pike addresses the first meeting of the MRS New Mexico Section.

and other emerging technologies.

A major goal of the New Mexico Section is to increase its membership by sponsoring activities of interest to the high-tech industries along the Rio Grande corridor as well as activities of interest to academia and the national laboratories. The present membership is comprised of scientists primarily from the University of New Mexico and the national laboratories; however, the technical presentations and meetings planned for the local section will be attentive to the growing microelectronics, ceramics, and laser firms in the area. Information on the local section activities and membership can be obtained by

contacting a member of the executive committee in your geographical area. The New Mexico Section promises to be a very active local MRS group, hosting meetings with nationally known technical speakers addressing a wide range of materials research topics. Plans for future meetings are presently being drawn up and announcements of these events and their location will be made in the near future. The contagious enthusiasm that marked the formation of the first MRS local section has now spread to New Mexico.

MRS Western New York Section Plans First Meeting

The newly established Western New York Section of the Materials Research Society will hold its first annual symposium May 23, 1986 at the Xerox Auditorium in Rochester, NY. The full-day program will consist of six to eight 45-minute presentations by distinguished scientists primarily from the Western New York region. Presently the invited speakers are:

Mildred S. Dresselhaus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. She is a member of the MRS Council and a past president of the American Physical Society.

Charles B. Duke, manager of Theoretical Physics and Chemistry Research for Xerox Corporation and senior research fellow of Xerox's Corporate Research Group. He is editor-in-chief of MRS' new journal, Journal of Materials Research, and a fellow of the American Physical Society.

Jack Hamilton, research fellow, Eastman Kodak Company

Edward Kramer, Cornell University, is winner of the APS High Polymer Physics Award.

James Livingston, General Electric Company. He is a fellow of both the American Physical Society and the American Society for Metals, and has recently received the Distinguished Career Award from AIME.

James W. Mayer, Francis Norwood Bard Professor of Materials Science, Cornell University, and 1981 Von Hippel Award winner

Donald Seraphim, research fellow, IBM Corporation.

Materials scientists are invited to attend this meeting and also to become members of the Western New York Section. For further information, contact a member of the symposium organizing committee:

Susan Goho, Xerox Webster Research Center; telephone (715) 422-2136

Mool Gupta, Kodak Research Laboratories; telephone (716) 477-8452

James Li, University of Rochester; telephone (716) 275-4038

Howard Rhodes, Kodak Research Laboratories; telephone (716) 477-6801



Discussing upcoming activities of the MRS New Mexico Section are (left to right): Harold Anderson (New Mexico Section president) of the University of New Mexico, Paul Peercy of Sandia National Laboratories, and MRS President Gordon Pike of Sandia National Laboratories.