THE COURT OF ELECTORS

Ex officio: The President, the Dean and the Registrar

Elected: Professor T. Arie, Drs T. L. Dunn^{*}, M. D. Enoch^{*}, Professor M. Gelder^{*}, Drs K. L. Granville-Grossman, J.

*Newly elected members

THE STANDING COMMITTEES

Walker*.

(The Officers are *ex-officio* members of all Standing Committees except the Executive and Finance Committee)

Public Policy Committee

Council Members: Drs C. Davies, D. Early (Chairman), J. J. Fennelly, Professor J. Gunn, Drs J. R. Hamilton, L. Liebling, M. Markowe, A. G. Mezey, T. E. Nelson, E. W. Shepherd, B. Ward (Secretary), T. Gwynne Williams.

Collegiate Trainees Committee: Dr H. Ghadiali

Non-Council Members: Drs P.-H. Connell, H. Hunter, C. James, T. A. Kerr, S. Levine, Professor A. K. M. Macrae, Dr B. Pitt.

Observer: R. A. W. Ratcliffe (SHHD).

Education Committee

Council Members: Professor T. Arie, Drs M. D. Cashman, Diana Dickens, P. d'Orban, D. Dunne, J. A. Hatrick, O. Hill, A. M. P. Kellam, E. G. Lucas, W. R. McKibben, T. E. Nelson, J. Pedder, R. A. Robinson, K. Schapira, C. P. Seager, A. Shapiro, A. Smith, W. Lumsden Walker. (Chairman: Dr T. H. Bewley; Secretary: Dr E. B. O. Smith.)

Collegiate Trainees Committee: Drs D. Costain, F. Margison, R. Scorer.

Non-Council Members: Wing-Cdr Eric Anthony, Drs G. E. Berrios, J. L. T. Birley, S. Bloch, R. Kumar, C. McDonald, B. Mallett, H. Richardson, Professor G. F. M. Russell, Surg-Cdr A. W. Scott-Brown, Professor H. J. Walton.

Co-opted Members: Drs Pamela Ashurst (Chairman, Working Party on Women in Psychiatry), T. A. Betts (Chairman, Audio-Visual Sub-Committee), S. Bhate (Chairman, Overseas Trainees' Sub-Committee), J. Bowlby (Chairman, Library and Reading Lists Sub-Committee), I. G. Bronks (Secretary, Psychiatric Tutors' Sub-Committee), J. Cobb (Secretary, Manpower Committee), D. Gill (Secretary, Overseas Trainees' Sub-Committee), Mrs B. Nicholas (Secretary, Nursing Sub-Committee), Drs T. L. Pilkington (Secretary, Audio-Visual Sub-Committee), A. Robin (Chairman, Manpower Committee), L. Tarlo (Chairman, Psychiatric Tutors' Sub-Committee).

Observer: To be notified.

Executive and Finance Committee

Harrington, W. A. Heaton-Ward, S. D. McGrath*. M.

Markowe, M. Pines, Professors K. Rawnsley, W. Linford

Rees, Drs R. A. Robinson*, A. B. Sclare and W. Lumsden

Ex-officio: The President, the Registrar, the Treasurer and the Dean

Fellows: Drs W. D. Boyd, J. L. Crammer, J. Harrington, I. S. Kreeger, P. G. McGrath and P. Sainsbury

Members: Drs Diana Dickens, J. R. Hamilton, Helena Waters.

Journal Committee

Editor and Chairman: Dr J. L. Crammer.

Associate Editors: Sir Martin Roth and Dr A. Walk.

Assistant Editors: Drs B. Barraclough, S. Bloch, S. Crown, J. Cutting, H. L. Freeman, T. A. Kerr, J. Leff, Margaret Little, R. Murray, A. C. Smith, R. P. Snaith, W. Spry, D. Steinberg.

Council Members: Drs P. d'Orban, D. Early, J. Evans, O. Hill, I. S. Kreeger, E. G. Lucas, A. B. Sclare, A. Shapiro.

Collegiate Trainees Committee: Dr Alyson Hall

Non-Council Members: Drs G. E. Berrios, P. Bowden, J. Jancar, P. Tyrer.

Library Committee

Librarian and Chairman: Dr H. R. Rollin.

Council Members: Drs Valerie Cowie, J. A. Hatrick, A. B. Sclare, A. Shapiro, E. W. Shepherd, A. C. Smith.

Collegiate Trainees Committee: Dr A. Beaini.

Non-Council Members: Drs B. Adams, E. Frommer, J. Heine, J. Johnson, D. Kelly, D. Leigh, Miss H. Marshall, Miss F. Picken, Dr A. Walk.

Programmes and Meetings Committee

Council Members: Professor T. Arie, Drs C. Davies, A. M. P. Kellam, E. G. Lucas (Chairman), W. R. McKibben, E. W. Shepherd.

Collegiate Trainees Committee: Dr C. Trotter.

Non-Council Members: Drs M. Aveline, P. Bowden, J. Cobb, A. V. P. Mackay, B. L. Mallett, R. Murray (Secretary), A. R. Nicol, Profs. M. Shepherd, A. C. P. Sims.

3

Research Committee

Council Members: Drs Valerie Cowie, Professor J. Gunn (Chairman), Drs P. Jefferys, R. A. Robinson, P. Sainsbury, A. B. Sclare, J. B. Walsh. (Secretary: Dr Sheila Mann.)

Collegiate Trainees Committee: Dr Philip Thomas.

Non-Council Members: Drs Pamela Ashurst, B.

Barraclough, K. Bergmann, P. Bowden, M. Crowe, C.-P. Freeman, Eve Johnstone, J. Jancar, J. Leff, M. MacCulloch, R. Maggs, D. H. Malan, Professor H. G. Morgan, Dr D. Richter, Professor A. C. P. Sims, Dr G. Szmukler, Professors P. Venables and J. P. Watson.

Observers: Drs Katherine Levy (MRC), J. Pippard (Research Project), R. Wilkins (DHSS).

AUTUMN QUARTERLY MEETING 1979

The Autumn Quarterly Meeting was held at the Institute of Psychiatry. London on 15 and 16 November, 1979 under the Presidency of Professor Desmond Pond.

SCIENTIFIC MEETINGS

The scientific meetings were held at the Institute of Psychiatry, and during the parallel sessions the following papers were presented:

Thursday 15 November: Morning Sessions

Biological Psychiatry

The Neuropathology of Dementia-Dr G. Blessed

Recent Developments in the Neurochemistry of Dementia-Dr Elaine Perry

Clinical Pharmacotherapeutic Trials in Dementia—Dr Iain Glen

Psychiatry in Relation to General Practice

- Training Family Doctors to Recognize Psychiatric Illness-Professor David Goldberg
- A Feasibility Study into the Reduction of Prescribing Anti-Anxiety Medication in General Practice—Dr J. Catalan
- Psychosocial Aspects of General Practice—Dr A. Clare The General Practitioner's View—Dr L. Zander

Thursday 15 November: Afternoon Sessions

Implications of Proposals Regarding the Mental Health Act This session was introduced by Sir George Young MP,

Under-Secretary of State for Social Services

The College View—Professor R. S. Bluglass

A Regional Psychiatric Hospital View-Dr B. Ward

A Legal View-James A. Cooke

A Nursing View—P. Clarke

A Social Work View—P. Oakley

Who in the Multidisciplinary Team Should Assess the Self-Poisoning Patient?

The Physician?-Dr R. Gardner

The Psychiatrist?-Dr P. F. Kennedy

The Social Worker?-Dr Jane Newson-Smith

The Psychiatric Nurse?-Dr Keith Hawton

These papers were followed by panel discussion.

Friday 16 November: Morning Sessions

Psychosocial Aspects of Physical Disease

- Psychological Research on Women with Breast Cancer-Dr Steven Greer
- Psychiatric Aspects of Hypertension-Dr A. H. Mann

Psychiatric Morbidity and Social Problems—Dr Geoffrey Lloyd

Miscellaneous

Doctors' Career Decisions-Mrs Rosemary Hutt

- Models of Mental Illness Held by Psychiatrists—Dr R. M. Murray
- The Role of the Clinical Psychologist: Post-Trethowan—Dr D. Castell

Other Sessions

The Social and Community Psychiatry Section met on Wednesday 14 November and held two sessions, 'Therapeutic Communities' and 'Psychiatric and General Practice—Gaps and Interfaces'.

At the meeting of the *Dependence/Addiction Group* two papers were presented: 'Controlled Drinking' by Dr M. Akhter and 'Alcohol Dependence and Phobias' by Dr J. A. Mullaney and Christopher Trippett.

Dr M. Aveline presented a paper entitled 'Personal Mystery and Reality in Psychotherapy' at the meeting of the *Psychotherapy Section*.

On Friday afternoon BARONESS WOOTTON OF ABINGER delivered the Maudsley Lecture, 'Psychiatry, Ethics and the Criminal Law'. Professor G. F. M. Russell proposed the vote of thanks. As Baroness Wootton was unable to be present at the Annual Meeting to receive her Certificate of Honorary Fellowship, Dr T. H. Bewley summarized the citation delivered on that occasion and the President presented her with the Certificate (*Bulletin*, December 1979, p 181).

BUSINESS MEETING

The business meeting was held on Friday 16 November.

Minutes

The minutes of the previous meeting held on 2 May 1979 and published in the *Bulletin*, November 1979 were approved and signed.