7. COMMISSION DE L'ASTRONOMIE DYNAMIQUE ET DES TABLES ASTRONOMIQUES

PRÉSIDENT: M. DE SITTER, Director of the Leiden University Observatory, Holland.

MEMBRES: MM. Angelitti, Armellini, Banachiewicz, Brouwer, E. W. Brown,
Charlier, Coculesco, Fotheringham, Hagiwara, Heinrich, Leuschner, Merlin,
J. Peters, Sampson, E. Strömgren, Von Zeipel.

There do not appear to be at the present moment any problems in dynamical astronomy of which the solutions call for combined action and international organisation rather than private efforts of mathematicians. The only possible contents of a report of the commission under these circumstances would be a historical survey of the work done in the subject since the last meeting. I do not think that a review of this nature is the proper function of such a report. My conviction that the subject of dynamical astronomy does not at the present moment stand in need of international co-operation, has been strengthened by the fact that a circular letter sent to all members of the commission has elicited only two replies, one of which expressed doubt regarding the usefulness of international co-ordination of the subject, whilst the other intimated that the writer had no remarks to offer.

There are many indications that the interest in the subject of dynamical astronomy is on the whole increasing. For the reasons stated I refrain, however, from submitting any other "report" than the above.

W. DE SITTER

President of the Commission