MRS-India 13th Annual General Meeting Held in February

The 13th Annual General Meeting of the Materials Research Society of India (MRS-I-13th AGM) was held at Hyderabad on February 7–9, 2002. In addition to the Meeting, that comprised of award lectures, medal lectures, poster presentations, and the business meeting, a theme symposium on Perspectives in Materials Characterization was hosted by MRS-I. The theme symposium was sponsored by the Department of Science and Technology, the Department of Atomic Energy, the Defence Research and Development Organization, the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, and the Indian Space Research Organisation. MRS-I-13th AGM attracted ~300 attendees in the area of materials science and technology.

The inaugural session opened at the Indian Institute of Chemical Technology (IICT) with introductory remarks by the vice president-general secretary of MRS-I, S.V. Subramanyam (Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore). K.V. Raghavan, director of IICT, welcomed the gathering. Founding president of MRS-I and Linus Pauling Research Professor C.N.R. Rao (Jawaharlal Nehru Center for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore) delivered a keynote address on "Phase Segregation and Phase Separation." This was followed by a lecture by the guest of honor, R. Chidambaram, principal scientific advisor to the government of India. The president of MRS-I, D. Chakravorty (Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science), gave the presidential address. D. Banerjee, convener of the MRS-I-13th AGM and director of the Defence Metallurgical Research Laboratory, concluded the session with a vote of thanks.

The opening program was followed by the technical sessions. The first session was devoted to MRS-I–International Conference on Superconductivity lectures, discussing developments in the area of materials science and superconductivity. The invited lecturers were

 M.S. Valiathan (Manipal Academy of Higher Education), *Biomaterials: From Inert* Substitutes to Active Scaffolds of Organs;

 P. Ramachandra Rao (National Metallurgical Laboratory), *Thermodynamics of Metastable Systems*; and

• A.K. Raychaudhuri (Indian Institute of Science), Colossal Magnetoresistive Oxides: Physics, Materials, and Devices.

K.J. Rao delivered the Honor Lecture on "A Physical Chemist's Homage to Materials Science."



Award recipients and delegates to the MRS-India 13th Annual General Meeting: (front row, left to right) G.S. Bhuvaneshwar, S.C. Chaplot, A.K. Raychaudhuri, K.J. Rao, D. Chakravorty, Ashok Misra, P. Ramachandra Rao, N. Ramakrishnan, and V. Damodara Das; (back row, left to right) S.V. Subramanyam, S.V. Joshi, S. Ramakrishnan, T. Pradeep, S.H. Pawar, S.D. Majumdar, Shobhana Narasimhan, P.N. Subramanian, and Devendra Kumar.

S. Biswas (Indian Institute of Science), D.N. Bose (formerly Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur), P. Hing (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore), and S. Radhakrishnan (National Chemical Laboratory) gave invited talks on topics related to the characterization of rough engineering surfaces, semiconductors, functional ceramics, and polymers for electronics, respectively.

The MRS-I Medalists, honored during the meeting, gave their presentations:

Ashok Misra (Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay), *Structure and Properties of Compatibilized Polymer Blends and Alloys;* S. Ramakrishnan (Indian Institute of Science), *Color Tuning in Polymer-Based LEDs;*

• Devendra Kumar (Banaras Hindu University—Institute of Technology), Designing of Strontium Titanate and Lead-Strontium Titanate Glass-Ceramics for Electronic Applications;

• G.S. Bhuvaneshwar (Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute for Medical Sciences and Technology), *Development of the Chitra Tilting Disc Heart Valve—A Historical Review;*

 P.N. Subramanian (Vikram Sarabhai Space Center), Application of Advanced Composites in Launch Vehicles and Spacecraft;
N. Ramakrishnan (Regional Research

Laboratory, Bhopal), Numerical Experiments Using Finite Element Method;

• S.C. Chaplot (Bhabha Atomic Research Center), *Neutron Scattering and Lattice Dynamics in Complex Materials;*

• V. Damodara Das (Indian Institute of Technology, Madras), *Dimensional Effects in Thin-Film Materials;*

• T. Pradeep (Indian Institute of Technology, Madras), *From Molecular Surfaces to Nanomaterials;*

• Shobhana Narasimhan (Jawaharlal Nehru Center for Advanced Scientific Research), *Calculations on the Reconstruction of Metal Surfaces;*

• S.H. Pawar (Shivaji University), *Innovations in Synthesis of High-T_c Superconducting Films and Heterostructures;*

• S.V. Joshi (International Advanced Research Center for Powder Metallurgy), Engineered Surfaces for Enhanced Component Performance;

• S.D. Majumdar (Associated Cement Companies), *New-Generation Binders and Refractories: State of the Art;* and

A.N. Kumar (Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi), *Deformation and Fracture Behavior of γ-Titanium Aluminide Alloys*.

About 150 posters were presented by scientists and researchers from across the country representing universities and research laboratories. A technical exhibition, with participation from ~10 companies, ran parallel to the poster sessions.

S.V. SUBRAMANYAM Vice President–General Secretary MRS-India

> D. BANERJEE Convener