Financial support for the exchange of delegations is being provided by the Asia Foundation.

## APSA Updates Membership Directory

All APSA members were contacted during the past year to update or add their personal listing for the 1985 Membership Directory. The new directory includes approximately 9,500 members with name, address, phone number (if included), institution and date of highest degree, and up to three fields of interest. There is also an index of women members, black American members, and hispanic members, as well as a geographical index.

The cost of the 1985 directory is \$15 for APSA members and \$20 for non-members. Please also include 75¢ for postage and handling. Orders and checks may be sent to: Directory, American Political Science Association, 1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20036.

## Section Chairs Welcome Proposals for 1986 Annual Meeting

Aaron Wildavsky, president-elect of APSA, has appointed Matthew Holden, Jr., Chair, Department of Government and Foreign Affairs, University of Virginia, to chair the Program Committee for the 1986 Annual Meeting. In addition, scholars have been named to head the 24 sections planned for next year's program. These nominations were approved by the Council at its April 12 meeting.

The Program Committee is composed of Holden and the section heads. The 1986 Annual Meeting will be held in Washington, D.C., August 28-31, 1986.

On behalf of the Program Committee, Holden is soliciting from Association members paper suggestions and offers to appear as discussants for next year's meeting. Due to the lead time required for preparation of copy for the spring Preliminary Program, the deadline for receiving suggestions is December 1, 1985.

Association members are asked to write directly to the appropriate section chair-person listed below. More general inquiries or suggestions may be addressed to:

- Matthew Holden, Jr., Department of Government and Foreign Affairs, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA 22901; (804) 924-3422.
- Norinne Hessman, Convention Coordinator, APSA, 1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20036; (202) 483-2512.

Further details on the plans for each section will be provided in the summer issue of *PS*. The section heads are:

## 1986 Annual Meeting Program Committee

Section 1. Positive Political Theory. Russell Hardin, Department of Political Science, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL 60637; (312) 962-8050.

Section 2. Empirical Theory and Methodology. Steven Rosenstone, Department of Political Science, Yale University, New Haven, CT 06520; (203) 436-6527.

Section 3. Political Thought and Philosophy: Historical Approaches. Alan Gilbert, Graduate School of International Studies, University of Denver, Denver, CO 80208; (303) 753-2324.

Section 4. Political Thought and Philosophy: Analytical and Critical Approaches. Scarlett Graham, Institute of Public Policy Studies, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN 37235; (615) 322-6222.

Section 5. The Practice of Political Science, Jewel Prestage, Department of Political Science, Southern University, Baton Rouge, LA 70813; (504) 771-3210.

Section 6. Power, Authority and Private Governments. Harry Eckstein, School of Social Sciences, University of California, Irvine, Irvine, CA 92717; (714) 856-7453.