to nominate prospective books by requesting publishers to send outstanding 1985 published books in legislative studies to the Fenno Prize Committee Chair, L. Sandy Maisel, Department of Government, Colby College, Waterville, ME 04901, by March 1, 1986. The first Fenno Prize winner will be announced at the Annual Business Meeting of the Legislative Studies Section during the 1986 American Political Science Association Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

The Fenno Prize honors the outstanding scholarship of Richard F. Fenno, Jr. of the University of Rochester, the leading contemporary analyst of legislative studies and the 1984-85 president of the American Political Science Association.

Nine Scholars Receive Awards from Policy Studies Section

The APSA Policy Studies Section in conjunction with the Policy Studies Organization recognized nine scholars at the annual Policy Studies Awards Luncheon on August 30, 1985.

James Q. Wilson received the Harold Lasswell Award as an outstanding scholar contributing to the understanding of the substance or process of public policy. He was especially honored for his work on regulatory policy, crime policy, and electoral policy.

Alice Rivlin received the Hubert Humphrey Award as an outstanding public policy practitioner. The award was mainly for her work as Director of the Congressional Budget Office, but also for her work with the Brookings Institution and as HEW Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation.

Peter Rossi received the Donald Campbell Award as an outstanding methodological innovator in public policy studies. It was mainly for his work as a pioneer in the field of program evaluation for both original research (e.g., the negative income tax experiments) and authoring textbooks (e.g., Evaluation: A Systematic Approach, Sage, 1982).

Henry Aaron of the Brookings Institution and William Schwartz of the Tufts Medical School received the PSO Book Award for their book on *The Painful Pre*scription: Rationing Medical Care (Brookings, 1984).

Alexander Hicks and Duane Swank received the newly established Theodore Lowi Award for the outstanding 1984-85 article in the *Policy Studies Journal*. Their article was "Governmental Redistribution in Rich Capitalist Democracies."

David Robertson received the Jeffrey Pressman Award for the outstanding 1984-85 article in the *Policy Studies Review*. His article was "Program Evaluation Versus Program Design: Which Accounts for Policy Failure?"

Kathleen Kemp received the PSO Conference Paper Award for her paper on "Growth in Federal Economic Regulation: The Nixon Anomaly," presented at the 1985 annual meeting of the Midwest Political Science Association.

The Policy Studies Organization welcomes nominations for the 1986 PSO Awards in the above seven categories for being an outstanding policy studies contributor, practitioner, methodologist, book author, *PSJ* article author, *PSR* article author, and conference paper author. Nominations should be sent to PSO, 361 Lincoln Hall, University of Illinois, Urbana, IL 61801.

Richard E. Neustadt Award Announced

The Presidency Research Group, an organized section of the American Political Science Association, announces the annual Richard E. Neustadt award for the best monograph, copyrighted in 1985, that contributes to and expands the political analysis of the American presidency. The Presidency Research Group plans to make the award during the 1986 APSA meetings in Washington, D.C.

Authors and publishers are invited to enter authored books in the competition. Please send three copies to the Neustadt award committee, George Grassmuck,