THE History of Economics Society BULLETIN

Volume VII, Issue 1

SUMMER 1986



The HES Bulletin is published semiannually by The History of Economics Society at Vanderbilt University

© Copyright 1986

182.1.

HISTORY OF ECONOMICS SOCIETY'S DISTINGUISHED FELLOWS

William Jaffee	1980
Joseph J. Spengler	1981
Joseph Dorfman	1982
Frank W. Fetter	1982
George J. Stigler	1983
Lord Robbins	1984
Terence W. Hutchison	1984
G. L. S. Shackle	1985
Friedrich A von Havek	1095

Officers of The History of Economics Society

1985-1986

President

A W Coats

Warren Samuels

Laurence S. Moss

Executive Committee

A. W. Coals	riesident	Executive Communic	r .
Abraham Hirsch	President-Elect	Todd Lowery	'86
Neil de Marchi	Vice-President	Abraham Hirsch	'86
John K, Whitaker	Past President	Y. S. Brenner	'88
Mark Perlman	Past President	Malcolm Rutherford	'88
Laurence S. Moss	Secretary-Treasurer		
	1984-1985		
Mark Perlman	President	Executive Committee	e
A.W. Coats	President-Elect	Abraham Hirsch	'86
John Henderson	Vice President	Todd Lowry	'86
Martin Bronfenbrenner	Past President	William O. Thweatt	'85
John K. Whitaker	Past President		
Laurence S. Moss	Secretary-Treasurer		
	1983-1984		
John K. Whitaker	President	Executive Committee	
Mark Perlman	President-Elect	Abraham Hirsch	'86
Samuel Hollander	Vice-President	Todd Lowry	'86
Warren Samuels	Past President	A.W. Coats	'85
Martin Bronfenbrenner	Past President	William O. Thweatt	'85
Laurence S. Moss	Secretary-Treasurer		
	1982-1983		
Martin Bronfenbrenner	President	Executive Committee	e
John K. Whitaker	President-Elect	Donald Walker	'83
Dudley Dillard	Vice-President	Klaus Hennings	'83
William D. Grampp	Past President	A.W. Coats	'85

All Communications regarding material for possible inclusion in the HEI should be addressed to:

William O. Thweatt, Editor

HES Bulletin

Past President

Secretary-Treasurer

Box 206-B, Vanderbilt University

Nashville, TN 37235

All submissions should be typed and double-spaced.

Requests for institutional subscriptions, membership information as wel as notices of address changes should be addressed to:

Laurence S. Moss, Secretary-Treasurer History of Economics Society, Economics Di Babson College

William O. Thweatt

'85

CONTENTS

From the Editor5
Distinguished Fellows: 1985
Friedrich August von Hyek6 - 7
George Lennox Sharman Shackle
George Lennox Sharman Shackle
H.E.AA.E.A. Joint Sessions, New York, December, 1985
Abstracts of Papers Delivered at the History of Economics
Society's Twelfth Annual Meeting at George Mason University,
•
Fairfax, Virginia, May 20-22, 1985
Short Papers:
Ronald H. Coase, Did Marshall Know Where He Was Born?34
Charles G. Leathers, Hobson's View of Sport: A Curious
Qualification35 - 37
Bradley W. Bateman, A Note On Researching Keynes's Work
In Probability
Yngve Ramstad, Echoes of Physiocracy42
Geoffrey Gilbert, The Scrope-Bhagwati Connection:
A Correction42
Notices
1100005
History of Economics Society, Balance Sheet49