Annual Meeting Visiting Foreign National Travel Grant Program

Under two programs, one sponsored by the Asia Foundation and one by the Institute of International Education, thirty-two advanced graduate students in the field of political science from twenty-two nations were awarded travel grants to attend the 1974 Annual Meeting in Chicago. The individuals and nations represented are:

Asia Foundation

AFGHANISTAN Abdul G. Arefi Indiana University N. K. N. Iyengar **Duke University** Anil Baran Ray University of Missouri JAPAN Katsumi Kobayashi University of California Toshiyuki Nishikawa University of Hawaii Soo Young Auh University of Michigan MALAYSIA Zakaria H. Ahmad Massachusetts Institute of Technology **PAKISTAN** Sardar Myhammad University of Pennsylvania TAIWAN Chen-Meng Yang Arizona State University **THAILAND** Suther Vacharapongpreecha John Hopkins University, SAIS

Institute of International Education

CANADA Richard G. C. Johnston Stanford University Elaine Meller Todres University of Pittsburgh GERMANY Norbert Homma University of Florida Peter J. Sackmann University of California, Berkeley GREECE Kleomenis Koutsoukis SUNY, Binghamton HOLLAND Theo Broersen University of Notre Dame Peter P. W. Melenhorst University of South Carolina IRAQ Nazar T. Al-Hasso University of Texas, Austin Muafa Tikriti

University of Texas, Austin Gholam Reza Maghroori University of California, Riverside **ISRAEL** Khalil E. Jahshan Memphis State University **KENYAN** Paul Achola University of Iowa LEBANON Tawfic Elias Farah University of Nebraska, Lincoln **NIGERIA** Yomi Durotoye **Duke University** Hilary I. Iregbulem University of Illinois, Urbana Sam Oni University of California, Berkeley SIERRA LEONE Alpha-Yayah Kaikai Ohio State University SUDAN Sonia Lutfi Alianak University of Texas, Austin SYRIA Kevork Y. Suakjian University of Nebraska, Lincoln UNITED KINGDOM Marjorie Mowlam University of Iowa Anthony Mugham University of Iowa W. Keith Pattison University of Virginia

Merriam and Strauss Awards Established

The Council of the Association at its recent meeting established new awards honoring Charles E. Merriam and Leo Strauss.

The Charles E. Merriam Award

The Charles E. Merriam Award will honor a person whose published work and career represent a significant contribution to the art of government through application of social science research. The award, which will be made at the APSA Annual Meetings for at least ten years will carry with it a prize of \$500. The sponsoring committee for the award was com-posed of Gabriel Almond, Harold Gosnell, J. David Greenstone, Avery Leiserson, Albert Lepawsky, Robert E. Merriam, Leo Rosten and John A. Vieg. As noted by David Greenstone in his presentation to the Council, the award in honor of Merriam, whose centennial is being celebrated this year, will recognize one of the giants of our profession who has made contributions to the study of political life, the development of the political science discipline and the art of government. Individuals wishing to contribute to the APSA Merriam Fund should send contributions to the University of Chicago in care of the APSA Merriam Fund. Contributions are tax deductible.