# WEED SCIENCE SOCIETY OF AMERICA

VOLUME 37	SEPTEMBER 1989	NUMBER 5
	AND BIOCHEMISTRY pans ( <i>Glycine max</i> ) and Two Weed Species as Monitored by Chlorophyll Fluorescend	
Behavior of Imazethapyr in Soybeans ( Wehtje, John W. Wilcut, and T. Vint Effect of Bentazon, Imazaquin, and Chlo	<i>Glycine max</i> ), Peanuts ( <i>Arachis hypogaea</i> ), and Selected Weeds. <b>Tracy A. Cole Hicks</b> . rimuron on the Absorption and Translocation of the Methyl Ester of Haloxyfop. <b>Kent</b>	, Glenn R. 639 A. Croon,
Differential Tolerance of Corn Genotype	es to DPX-M6316. Charlotte V. Eberlein, Kathleen M. Rosow, Jon L. Geadelr	nann, and
Drought and Recovery. David T. Patter The Potential Allelopathic Characteristic Intraspecific and Interspecific Sicklepod Allelopathic Potential of Legume Debris Apical Dominance in Rhizomes of Quack K. Neil Harker, Robert N. Pocock, an Interference of Hogpotato (Hoffmansegg	istata) and Velvetleaf (Abutilon theophrasti) with Cotton (Gossypium hirsutum) During erson and Maxine T. Highsmith cs of Bitter Sneezeweed (Helenium amarum). Albert E. Smith. (Cassia obtusifolia) Interference. Robert C. Bozsa, Lawrence R. Oliver, and Ton s and Aqueous Extracts. Randall H. White, A. Douglas Worsham, and Udo I grass (Elytrigia repens): Inhibitory Effect of Scale Leaves. J. Mason Robertson, John nd Edward C. Yeung ia glauca) with Cotton (Gossypium hirsutum). Eric P. Castner, Don S. Murray, Nell I and John F. Stone	658   665   y L. Driver 670   Blum 674   S. Taylor, 680   M. Hackett, 680
Control of Horse Purslane ( <i>Trianthema</i> Rajender S. Balyan and Ram K. Mal Antagonism of Glyphosate Toxicity to Jo	a portulacastrum) and Barnyardgrass (Echinochloa crus-galli) in Mung Bean (Vigi lik phnsongrass (Sorghum halepense) by 2,4-D and Dicamba. Jerry L. Flint and Mich a (Brassica napus) with DPX A7881. Robert E. Blackshaw.	
SOIL, AIR, AND WATER Adsorption of Imazaquin and Imazethapy	rr on Soils, Sediments, and Selected Adsorbents. Mark M Loux, Rex A. Liebl, and Fr	ed W. Slife 712
Modeling Distributions of Crop and Wee	havior on Wheat ( <i>Triticum aestivum</i> ) Straw. Brent B. Petersen and Patrick J. Ind Seed Germination Time. David C. Bridges, Hsin-I Wu, Peter J. H. Sharpe, and	James M.
Chandler. Minutes of the Board of Directors Mee Minutes of the Board of Directors Mee Minutes of the General Membership B	eting. eting. Business Meeting	
toport of the freedology committee		

## WEED SCIENCE

Published six times a year by the Weed Science Society of America

#### R. J. Aldrich, Editor

#### Associate Editors

Nagi R. Achhireddy, Yoder Brothers, Inc., P.O. Box 68, Alva, FL 33920

N. E. Balke, Department of Agronomy, University of Wisconsin, 1575 Linden Drive, Madison, WI 53706

Michael Barrett, Department of Agronomy, University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY 40546

Sidney S. Harper, USDA-ARS, Southern Weed Science Laboratory, P.O. Box 350, Stoneville, MS 38776

R. D. Ilnicki, Department of Soils and Crops, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, NJ 08903

R. S. McAllister, Dynamac International, Inc., 11140 Rockville Pike, Rockville, MD 20852

Paul W. Santelmann, Department of Agronomy, Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, OK 74078

A. K. Watson, Department of Plant Science, Macdonald College of McGill University, 21111 Lakeshore Rd., Ste. Anne de Bellevue, PQ, Canada H9X 1C0

Allen F. Wiese, Texas Agricultural Experiment Station, Texas A&M University System, P.O. Drawer 10, Bushland, TX 79012

Jerry Oot, Technical Editor AC/217-892-4329

#### Reviewers

W. H. Ahrens	Raymond Forney	A. R. Martin	R. F. Turco
L.W.J. Anderson	Greg Gillespie	Wondi Mersie	M. K. Upadhyaya
David Bridges	K. N. Harker	Tom Moorman	Glenn Wehtje
D. D. Buhler	Kent Harrison	L. J. Moshier	S. C. Weller
G. E. Coats	J. S. Holt	D. T. Patterson	G. A. Wicks
J. F. Derr	William C. Koskinen	P. J. Shea	John W. Wilcut
A. G. Dexter	Rex Liebl	C. E. Snipes	M. C. Williams
Charlotte Eberlein			Frank Young
	Officers of the Weed Science S	Society of America	C C
H. M. LeBaron, President		S. Hamill, Secretary	

H. M. LeBaron, President	A. S. Hamill, <i>Secretary</i>
L. W. Mitich, President-Elect	J. F. Ellis, Treasurer
J. R. Abernathy, Vice President	B. Truelove, Editor-in-Chief
J. F. Ahrens, Past President	R. A. Schmidt, Executive Secretary

Weed Science (ISSN 0043-1745) is an official publication of the Weed Science Society of America, 309 West Clark Street, Champaign, IL 61820 (AC/217-356-3182). It contains refereed papers describing the results of research that elucidates the nature of phenomena relating to all aspects of weeds and their control. It is published bimonthly, one volume per year, six issues per year beginning in January.

Membership is \$50 per year, student affiliate membership \$20, which includes receipt of *Weed Science, Weed Technology*, and *WSSA Newsletter*. Dues should be sent to WSSA, 309 West Clark Street, Champaign, IL 61820 not later than December 1 of each year. Membership in the society is on a calendar-year basis only.

Subscriptions (institutions, libraries, etc.) are \$80 per year, one volume per year of six issues beginning in January. New subscriptions and renewals begin with the first issue of the current volume and should be sent to WSSA, 309 West Clark Street, Champaign, IL 61820.

Change of address affecting the mailing list for members, students, and subscribers, inquiries about copies lost in the mail, requests for back issues, and all matters pertaining to the receipt of the Journal, membership and subscription information should be sent to WSSA, 309 West Clark Street, Champaign, IL 61820. Claims for copies lost in the mails must be received within 30 days (90 days foreign) of the date of issue to insure replacement at no charge.

Manuscripts must be sent to the Editor, Richard J. Aldrich, 701 Wildwood Drive, Columbia, MO 65203 (Oct. 16 to April 30); or Box 236, Marcell, MN 56657 (May 1 to Oct. 15). Directions for contributors are published in the January issue of *Weed Science*. Authors are asked to pay \$50 (member) or \$100 (nonmember) per page charge as a portion of the cost of publication. The Editor can make exceptions in advance when justified.

Weed Science published by the Weed Science Society of America. Second class postage paid at Champaign, IL and at additional mailing offices. Copyright 1989 by the Weed Science Society of America. Printed in USA. All rights reserved. Reproduction in part or whole prohibited.

Return POD form 3579 to WSSA, 309 West Clark Street, Champaign, IL 61820.

### Sustaining Members WEED SCIENCE SOCIETY OF AMERICA October 17, 1989

ABC Laboratories, Inc. A & L Agricultural Laboratories ACRES Agric. Custom Research Agri-Growth Research Inc. Agrolinz Inc. Allen Machine Works American Cyanamid Company American Hoechst Corporation The Andersons **BASF** Corporation Chemalysis Inc. Chevron Chemical Company **CIBA-GEIGY** Corporation Conviron Deere & Company Dow Chemical USA E. I. DuPont de Nemours Company Eli Lilly & Company Environmental Technologies Institute Inc. Fermenta ASC Corporation FMC Corporation Gandy Corporation Growmark Inc. Gylling Data Management, Inc.

ICI Americas, Inc. W. R. Landis Associates LI-COR, Inc. Mandel Scientific Company Ltd. Marbicon Inc. Mobay Corp./Ag Chem. Div. Monsanto Company Mycogen Corporation NOR-AM Chemical Company Pan-Agricultural Labs., Inc. PBI/Gordon Corporation Pioneer Overseas Corporation R & D Sprayers Inc. Rhone Poulenc Inc. Rogers Engineering Inc. Rohm & Haas Company Sandoz Crop Protection O. M. Scott & Sons Company SSI Mobley Company, Inc. Stewart Agricultural Research Service Inc. Sumitomo Chemical America Inc. Terra International Inc. Uniroyal Chemical Corporation Watson Consulting and Research Inc.