## North Texas Section Co-Sponsors 8th Annual Symposium on Electronic Materials, Processing and Characterization

The Eighth Annual Joint Symposium on Electronic Materials, Processing and Characterization was held at the Richardson Hilton and Towers in Richardson, Texas, June 5-6, 1989. This is the fourth consecutive year the local chapters of the Materials Research Society, American Vacuum Society, and the Electrochemical Society have co-sponsored the conference.

The organizing committee composed of Marylyn Bennett-Lilley (MRS), Allen Bowling (ECS), and Roc Blumenthal (AVS) reported a new record attendance of 172, of whom 37 were students and 42 were vendors. There were 7 invited speaker presentations, 14 student presentations, and 9 other contributed presentations during the two-day event. Session topics were devoted to recent developments in metallization, compound semiconductors, thin films and superconductors, advanced ma-

terials and processing, lithography, and characterization.

For the first time, a poster session was included in the conference. The 10 poster session authors each gave a five-minute preview before the poster session began.

This was the third year for the student paper awards and attracted the highest number of contributions to date, 14, which included the poster papers this year. Symposium attendees rated the eligible papers. First place, with an award of \$150, went to K.W. Goeking and co-workers from Texas A&M University, who presented "Preparation of BiSrCaCuO Superconductor by Pb and Ti Doping and Liquid Phase Epitaxy." Second place, with an award of \$100, went to W.B. Kinard and co-workers, also from Texas A&M University, for "Fabrication of a Novel Gated Resonant Tunneling Diode: (GRTD)."

A reception was held for the vendors on the evening of June 5. This was followed by the June meeting of the North Texas Materials Characterization Society, the MRS North Texas Section. The speaker, Gary Kellogg from Sandia National Laboratories, gave a tutorial entitled "Field-Ion and Atom-Probe Microscopy: Structural and Chemical Analysis at the Atomic Level." Approximately 31 NTMCS members attended the tutorial.



Organizers of the 8th Annual Symposium on Electronic Materials, Processing and Characterization (left to right) Marylyn Bennett-Lilley (MRS), Roc Blumenthal (AVS), and Allen Bowling (ECS).

## A Special Thank You

Every month many individuals contribute to the process of publishing the MRS Bulletin. Those who perform the editorial, composition, and advertising tasks are recognized in our masthead. Those who write features or guest edit issues are prominently acknowledged where their contributions appear. The Bulletin would not work without all such invaluable help. One class of contributors, however, maintains a low profile compared to the efforts they expend. They are the experts who have graciously consented to review books for the Bulletin. Although their names are appended to their reviews, we feel this level of recognition is disproportionately small compared to the value of reviews to our readers. We take this opportunity to recognize the names of all our reviewers up to and including this issue, and also those who have submitted reviews yet to be published.

Y. Arakawa
A.S. Argon
Leonid V. Azaroff
S.D. Bader
J.E.E. Baglin
Minko Balkanski
Peter Bancel
Paul Becher
Stephen M. Bobbio
R. Allen Bowling
Otto Buck
Robert W. Cahn
Salvatore Ugo Campisano
Daniel F. Caulfield
Y-T. Cheng
Omesh K. Chopra
Jerry Cuomo
G. Doyle Daves Jr.
Rudolph D. Deanin
Turgut Demirel
Ronald Diegle
Michael C. Downer
Clif W. Draper
Charles B. Duke
Charles A. Evans Jr.

Rodney C. Ewing Sam Fáin Richard B. Fair John E. Fischer Elaine C. Flower R.C. Frye F.P. Gerstle Ir. Paul Gourley Chris Grovenor Michael W. Guinan Mars Hablanian Lucy M. Hair Eiichi Hanamura J.M. Haschke M. Heiblum Irving P. Herman Pauline Ho Kazuo Hotate Rolf E. Hummel Takashi Ikoma Makoto Ishii Ralph Jaccodine Loren A. Jacobson J. Jellinek David C. Joy

Andrew P. Kaldor E.N. Kaufmann Shuji Komura G.H. Lander Harry J. Leamy El-Hang Lee Leonard Leibowitz John C. Lippold M.R. Louthan, Ir. Alan K. Miller P. Mukhopadhyay Z.A. Munir Kazuro Murayama L.E. Murr Kurt Nassau Fred A. Nichols Tatau Nishinaga Gottlieb S. Oehrlein Tomoya Ogawa Jacques I. Pankove Carlo G. Pantano D.E. Passoja John H. Perepezko J.C. Phillips Shankara Prasad

Roderic P. Quirk Harry B. Radowsky David T. Raske Arnost Reiser S.J. Riley Allan Rosencwaig Robert J. Schaefer George W. Scherer S.P. Shah Michael L. Shand Wigbert J. Siekhaus David S. Soong Brian P. Straughan Ian M. Thomas John E. Thomas Charles W. Tu Bruce A. Tuttle L.J. Varnerin John Walker E. Thomas Weber Victor A. Wells I.M. White Hartmut Wiedersich Itaru Yasui Vincent J. Zaleckas

If you would like to review books for the MRS Bulletin, write to Gail Oare, Director of Publications, at MRS Headquarters. Please indicate your areas of research interest.