## Notes and News

Offprints of 'Notes and News' are available on a subscription basis as from January 1966. They are printed on one side of the paper only. The annual subscription is 75p (\$2.00; F 11), post free.

## Professor Malcolm Guthrie

WE record with deep regret the death, on 22 November 1972, of Professor Malcolm Guthrie FBA, Professor Emeritus of Bantu languages in the University of London and, until 1970, Head of the Department of Africa at the School of Oriental and African Studies.

Professor Guthrie had many links with the Institute. With Professor A. N. Tucker he was responsible for the supervision of the International African Institute's Linguistic Field Survey of the Northern Bantu Borderland which was carried out in 1949 and 1950 resulting in the publication of three volumes of the Handbook of African Languages in 1956 and 1957. Professor Guthrie's own contributions to the Handbook included his important The Classification of the Bantu Languages (1948, reprinted 1967) and The Bantu Languages of Western Equatorial Africa (1953). In 1970 he was nominated the representative of The British Academy on the Institute's Governing Body.

## W. H. Whiteley Memorial Fund

In response to the wishes of many friends and associates of the late Professor Wilfred H. Whiteley, it has been decided to set up a Fund in his memory, with the aim of encouraging African Studies. Suggestions as to the form such a memorial should take include an annual prize of books for an outstanding student in African Studies, a scholarship for East African students, and a memorial grant for students in special need.

Any contributions from readers of Africa would be welcomed and may be sent to either Dr. Hazel Carter or Dr. Joan Maw, at the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, London WC1E 7HP, cheques and drafts being made payable to the School of Oriental and African Studies.

## The Université Nationale de Zaïre (UNAZA)

In June 1971 the three universities in Zaire (formerly Congo-Kinshasa) took the names of the towns in which they are situated (Kinshasa, Kisangani, and Lubumbashi), and in October 1971, when the country changed its name, they were integrated as the Université Nationale de Zaïre (BP. 13399, Kinshasa; Rector: Mgr. Tshibangu-Tshishiku). Faculties, departments, and institutes have been substantially regrouped to allow disciplinary specialization on each of the three campuses.

At the Lubumbashi campus (B.P. 1825, Lubumbashi) is the Faculté des Sciences Sociales, Administratives et Politiques (Dean: Professor Luis Beltrán), and the Faculté des Lettres (Dean: Professor H. Silvestre). The former Kinshasa departments of anthropology, sociology, political science, public administration, history, and African languages (see Africa, xlii, 1. 1972, pp. 59-60) are now at Lubumbashi campus, as are the research centres CELTA and CELRIA. A new research centre, the Institut d'Études Sociales, is in process of formation and a new journal, Revue Zaïroise des Sciences Sociales, has been started. The philosophy department of the Faculté des Lettres at Lubumbashi publishes Cahiers Philosophiques Africains (in French and English) of which the first issue, January-June 1972, includes notes on the teaching of philosophy in African universities.