1999-2000 class who began their four-week orientation in November. The political scientists among the group are indicative of the ever-widening range of the discipline and the relevance of the legislative process. In addition to the two Carl Albert Fellows from the University of Oklahoma (Leslie McCollum and Craig Williams), the group includes two doctoral graduates as APSA-MCI WorldCom Fellows from the University of Toronto (Chantal Blouin) and Northwestern University (James Snider) who will focus on both U.S. and international telecommunications policies, a University of California, San Diego graduate (Danieł Kaufman) who has specialized in Latin America and comparative politics, two German Marshall Fund Fellows and doctoral candidates from the University of Potsdam, Berlin (Michael Kolkmann) and Munich University (Simone Stemmler), and Johns Hopkins University SAIS graduate and Ford Foundation Fellow Mohamed Kamal who will return at the end of the program to assume a teaching position in U.S. politics and the legislative process at the newly-inaugurated American Studies Center at Cairo University.

Gearing the orientation and biweekly Wilson Seminar series to the increased diversity of Congressional Fellow interests has a become a challenge. Visiting Senior Fulbright Scholars in political science will continue to be invited to the Wilson series to augment the growing international perspective, and the orientation program will continue to draw heavily upon political science alumni in the D.C. area including

Stan Bach, 1972–73 Congressional Fellow and senior specialist at the Congressional Research Service

Walter Beach, former CFP director, 1998 Goodnow Award winner, and senior fellow at the Helen Dwight Reid Educational Foundation

Chris Deering, 1984–85 Congressional Fellow and professor of politi-

cal science at George Washington University

Alton Frye, 1961–62 Congressional Fellow and vice president of the Council on Foreign Relations **Paul Herrnson**, 1989–90 Congressional Fellow and professor at the University of Maryland

Frederick Holborn, professor at Johns Hopkins SAIS and director of

nternational Update

JPSA Representatives Participate in 1999 Meeting

As part of its continuing exchange with the Japanese Political Science Association, APSA hosted four JPSA members at the recent meeting in Atlanta. Hiroshi Hirano of Gakushuin University, Kuniaki Tanabe of Tokyo University, and Kengo Akiduki of Kyoto University each presented papers under the auspices of the exchange program. Additionally, Yoshiaki Kobayashi of Keio University, and JPSA liasion to APSA, attended the convention.

In early October, APSA members Terry Clark of the University of Chicago and Jong S. Jun of California State University, Hayward traveled to Tokyo at the invitation of the JPSA as APSA representatives to the Japanese Annual Meeting. Both scholars participated on a special panel that included scholars from the JPSA/European Consortium for Political Research exchange program.

Since 1990, the APSA and JPSA have exchanged delegations to their respective annual meetings, facilitating the exchange of research and methods and bridging the distance between communities.

NEWS FROM IPSA

IPSA Names New Secretary General-Designate

At its April meeting in Krakow, Poland, the International Political Science Association executive council appointed Guy Lachapelle of Concordia University as the new secretary general-designate. Lachapelle will become secretary general at the conclusion of current director John Coakley's term in 2000. All coordinating activities for IPSA will move to

Concordia University in Montreal, Canada, for the duration of Lachapelle's three-year term.

Lachapelle is a professor in the political science department at Concordia, where he has served since 1984. In addition to teaching at Concordia, he is also coordinator of Quebec Government Relations at the Office of Government & External Relations. Previously, he has served as president of the Société Québécoise de science politique (1996–97). He currently serves as co-chairperson

of the organizing committee of the XVIII IPSA World Congress, to be held in Quebec City in 2000.

Africa to Host XIX IPSA World Congress

For the first time, an IPSA World Congress will be held on the African continent in 2003. At its April meeting, the IPSA executive council accepted a joint invitation from the African Association of Political Science and the South African Political Science Association. The meeting will take place in Durban, South Africa, June 30–July 5.

Be sure to follow all of the Association's international activities via APSANet, the American Political Science Association online at www.apsanet.org/about/international.



Guy Lachapelle

818